Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 21, 2009

9:40 p.m.

Tired

On this, our first day with our new President, I ran two miles, cleaned a house, finished a hat and cleaned out the fridge for garbage day.

And I ate too much at dinner which is why I'm sitting here like that girl in Willy Wonka who turned into a giant blueberry. Only I'm a giant chicken liver. I rarely cook them, but just had a Jones for some tonight, with sauteed onions. I really enjoyed every bite. I'm not so much enjoying this part, but it'll pass, and meanwhile I can bask in all I accomplished today.

The hat is so cute, but it's a tad small for my head. I can maybe put it in the pile of "sell in the eBay store," which needs some handcrafted things in it anyway. Here is a picture, not entirely well lit:

I think I could do a better one with a size or two larger needles. They're 16" circular ones, though, hard to come by. Rose's knitting guru friend, Sully, showed us how to make a "magic loop" with a longer circular needle where the loop sticks out of the stitches and works its way down the row each round. That way if you've only got the 24" needles you can still do it.

Although I just got my living room cleared up and have been enjoying knitting in there with all that SPACE, methinks I need to set up some kind of sewing table in there. I went to Job Lot and they're no longer selling folding tables right now -- rats. An oblong folding table and a shoji screen would fix that right up. I just found one for a very reasonable price on Amazon. I happen to have a credit on my Amazon credit card, too, one that came through after I'd paid the bill. I can't get the cash back, so why not get a shoji screen?

And my mind's too scattered to think of what else to write. I absolutely have to practice my guitar tonight. Callouses almost gone, and little Florida tour next week. I'll see if I can work through this post-prandial stupor and play a few songs.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!