Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 19, 2009

6:26 p.m.

Tortellini Slip

I've learned the joys of a slip stitch pattern. Since every other stitch is slipped onto the opposite needle without knitting it, the rows go much faster. I have the illusion of being a power knitter. I can also tie a slip knot, sew a half slip, slip a sucker a mickey, slip out the back, Jack, spot a Freudian slip and slip a lover's clutch. I have also been known, on occasion, to slip slide away. However, I have never learned to dance a slip jig -- and probably never will at this point.

Despite this drawback it was a good day. I knitted in the quiet morning. I notice that I tend to knit tightly. I don't mean to, but I pull the stitches in. Rose knits loosely, sometimes having to start over with smaller needles.

I did get myself back to the gym in the earlyish afternoon. I did really well! I ran nearly two miles at the top, before walking a while. There was a bit more running after that but I tried not to hurt myself and walked most of the rest.

What better thing to do after running than grocery shop? When all the muffins and chips look so alluring. I did get ingredients for my spinach tortellini soup, forgetting only one critical thing -- the spinach. Happily I had some fresh in the fridge, not as much as I'd normally have used, but sufficient. I've now eaten a giant bowl of it and if I don't burst I'll be able to work on that hat again in a bit.

I did want to sew today but I really have to set that up in the morning, as it confiscates the kitchen table and environs and there's no use beginning that kind of mess in the evening unless I want to eat breakfast in bed. Oh, hm. Well. I could think about that, I suppose.

********

At last it was above freezing today. My source said 38, and it felt downright balmy. I had some comprehensive shoveling to do around my car, which provided my upper body workout so I didn't have to do the circuit machines at the gym. I'm always impressed by how we acclimate to the cold after a few horrid, numbing exposures. Speaking of which, I had my second, recent, discernable hot flash this afternoon. Ooh baby, bring it on.

********

I had other things to write about, but my dsl connection keeps finking out and I'm done fussing with it. Also now on a little yarn frenzy, so must obey the muse. At least I can amuse myself without the computer, eh?

So I'll go slip a few stitches.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!