Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 14, 2009

11:25 p.m.

One Word

Alert the media. I went to the gym today. Cashed in one of my guest passes, which I discovered I hadn't used last year, and had a walk/run for forty minutes on the indoor track. It was joyful. I even saw a really cute guy there. This is significant; I haven't seen a guy I thought was cute in several years.

This, after having some prolonged and very clear dreams about Will last night. They weren't earth shattering or anything; he was just very present, and I didn't feel the need to write anything down or analyze them too much. It's just processing.

And tonight there was a knitting klatsch at Rose's, and I got a couple of good tips and began a new hat.

I daren't type this too loudly, but my fingers right now are doing better than they have in a very long time. Guts were some percent better than last night; at least there is no temptation to groan.

I have finished the first third of "Eat, Pray, Love," and there is a part where she is in Rome talking to one of her Italian friends. They are discussing how every city, every place, every person, has one word that defines it/her at a given time. Rome's word was SEX. New York's word was ACHIEVE. Her friend asked her, what was her word? In that time of transition she couldn't figure out how to distill herself down to something so simple. But I asked myself the question, and the answer came quickly: Make. Right now, I have to make. Quilts, dolls, hats, sweaters, books. Soon, make a little cello music. (Actually right now I have to finish making the cello.) Creativity on full force. I am making healthy skin. I am making poo!

Though some days it doesn't look like it, I am also making a plan.

There's a good chance I'll be plenty sore tomorrow. I ran more than I thought I would. In that case I will stretch, and possibly go again anyway. The band's newsletter is late -- no big deal, as we haven't had any gigs to advertise, but that should go out tomorrow, too. I washed all my fabrics so I can begin to piece a quilt if I've a mind. I just read that we might have snow; better move my car then.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!