Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 31, 2008

12:21 a.m.

So Much for an Early Finish

I guess it was no surprise that I ran late all day. "Late" being a relative term, as everything happens now anyway... I felt behind only because Wes and I had made plans for a homecooked dinner and a movie, and I wanted to be back by a certain time. It ended up as Chinese takeout and Netflix, but that was okay.

I managed numerous errands in various places, a couple of loads of laundry at Rose's, and an unexpected visit to the doctor. I'd called and left him a message, following up on the endoscopy, and he called me just as I'd gotten to Rose's house, which happens to be about halfway to his office anyway. We talked for a few minutes and he wanted to know what symptoms were still hanging on. When I described them, he said he wanted to give me a medicine that was specifically for IBS that should help alleviate whatever discomfort is left. I went right away and picked it up, texting Rose with the update. Apparently this medication is something mild (good). I don't want any big surprises. What I do want is to feel good.

I didn't get out of Rose's until after 7:00. I picked up the shrimp and vegetables, called Wes, and he came over soon after.

He's just returned from stressful holiday traditions with his family, including ex wife and son, which he enjoys not at all. He's been trying to lose some weight and was doing pretty well until Thanksgiving. He said a little glass of eggnog kicked his butt. After that he became a sugar freak. When he came home from the stressful Christmas he bought a big chocolate cake and ate it in two days (with a bit of help from a neighbor, but still). We were laughing so hard over this chocolate cake. He was describing the icing, gorgeous buttercream frosting, not the overly sweet kind, and the cake was so moist and dense... I said, "That is horrible! ...Where did you get it, again?" and we laughed some more. He said his digestion has never been better than since he ate the cake. "If only we'd known, that was the answer!" I had some episodes of Blackadder, an old Brit comedy show with which he was unfamiliar, and he loved it. We wrapped up in blankies on the little couch in the chill apartment. He talked about his bad breakup of 5 years ago and we wondered if, after we die, everything is all right and we all sit around in the greenroom and review what happened, and say, "Man, do you remember that?! That SUCKED!" "Wow, I can't believe you did that. I'm gonna kick your ass for that in the next life!" "Okay, here's what we'll do next time..."

Etc. Now it's late and the go to bed angel is telling me I don't have to put my laundry away until tomorrow. Good angel.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!