Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 27, 2008

11:28 a.m.

Wet Saturday

Another beautiful, overcast, white day here in Connecticut. I don't know why that's so appealing to me, out this window, when I really prefer sunny days. I see the top of the next door roof, and beyond that a huge maple tree. This tree is one of the biggest in town, I think. Several houses high? A bird swoops past, the clouds with their slight pewter cast slip by, and moisture on the screens obscures the rest of the neighborhood. And between me and the windows, my plants, which are for some reason doing exceptionally well this winter. Aloes, dendrobium, golden dragon, phalaenopses, aralia, jasmine, English ivy.

This morning I am wearing Mysore Sandalwood, from my new stash of tiny vials. Some are hard to get open -- there's a little plastic stopper with a wand, and they're wedged so tightly into the vial. I resorted to pliers, which work well if I don't manhandle them too much. (Like cutting an apple open with an axe.) I see why people get all excited about perfume, though. I learned from James, who has been invited (in his capacity as a branding consultant) to a couple of these big perfume conventions in NYC, that many perfumes are made to be blended with other ones, just like we do with lipstick. Since then I've experimented with combining what few I have (mostly essential oils like ambergris). Some work together, some don't. He related a moment from his first convention -- one of the male perfumers striding briskly by, waving his newly scented wrist, declaring, "It's all about the dry-down!"

I'd love to go to one of those.

Anyway, I was so unhappy when I went to bed last night, over this digestive stuff, and this morning I awoke with a little bit of joy in my heart. I don't know why; maybe something got fixed in the Dreamscape. I got a little encouragement from somewhere. Many things are in place.

********

I borrowed The Incredibles from Rose and re-watched it. I'd forgotten I'd seen it some time ago. It was so cute. I love super heroes.

Meanwhile I pulled apart Pearl's rooster scarf for the second time and decided to just do a double seed stitch scarf. I don't know with whom it will end up but for now at least there's no deadline. Tomorrow I go to NH to visit a couple of friends, Normandy and Sage, and deliver an easel for Sage's daughter who loves to draw. In the coming week I want to gather together all the things I want to put in my eBay store and see what that looks like. Normandy's brother or cousin or somebody like that makes a surprisingly lucrative living selling bad tchatchkee on eBay. Rugs with Elvis on them, tourist towels, that sort of thing. It's interesting, what you can sell. I'm really keen on creating an avenue for my artsy stuff if it means I can stay home more. I just have to keep believing I can do it.

Well, I'm content this morning. I'll make a couple of lists, poke around online a bit more and then try to be productive.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!