Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 23, 2008

5:48 p.m.

A Day Where I Got Just about Nothing Done

Errands take forever. Especially this week, they take forever. I was going to make the third doll, but I didn't have the right thread, and a foray out to get the right thread included perusing additional fabrics, buying hand lotion, going to the bank, mailing some sheet music and a CD (but not before having to buy the right size envelopes), and picking up a couple of packages from Rose's house. I missed lunch. Once home I made myself work out, having been delinquent in that for at least a week. Suddenly the back of my left hand itched like the devil. Within fifteen minutes there was a little bumpy eczema patch where there had never been one before. Same thing happened on my left hand three days ago.

After appropriately freaking out, applying Elocon, finishing the workout and getting back onto the computer, I did some more research. This time I googled, "Help! Eczema is spreading." This was much more helpful than the other searches I've done. This time I read that evening primrose oil has helped some people with the inflammation of eczema. Interestingly, the nurse at the hospital recommended it for night sweats, so I just happened to have got some. I am also reading that vitamin B deficiencies (and other vitamin inconsistencies resulting from digestive disorders) can also contribute, rendering such supplements quite useful in some cases. I don't take B complex except what's in my multivitamin, so that would be an easy thing to try, too. It would certainly make sense if the whole skin thing was directly related to digestive distress.

Sigh.

Anyway, I cooked (reheated) dinner, ironed the sari I am now giving to Pearl in lieu of the scarf that won't be finished, and wrapped the rest of the presents. Except the dolls. I never got to sewing but there is still tomorrow. There is still the entire length of tomorrow to finish this extremely last minute gift! Ack.

Incidentally, I took the two dolls to C&C's house yesterday when I visited, to get opinions and feedback. Everyone practically slobbered over them both, which made me feel much better and think that maybe they'll be popular and salable.

So now I'm thinking of going to CVS tonight and getting some B complex, so I won't have to go anywhere tomorrow and once again distract myself from the prime directive. It's so dark so early.

********

In plant news, my dendrobium is blooming again -- pale green and purple blossoms -- and TWO of my orchids are showing nubby little signs of a flower stem. None of them have blossomed in at least two years. I think it's because I'm home. They were waiting for me.

I always would tell them I'd be back.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!