Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 19, 2008

9:02 a.m.

The Enchanted Goat

I was with my sister, Rose; we were in her car, about to go somewhere. The car was now so dilapidated and stripped down, it didn't even have any seats or roof. There was some trash on the floor. I thought perhaps she'd finally compromised a little too much on her former upper middle class lifestyle. I was embarrassed and hoped we didn't run into her ex husband.

Driving on a dirt lane by woods, she said she'd seen a goat in the forest, lying as if dead. I "saw" it as she described it, white, eyes open and round and dark (not slitted). She said a couple of times as we talked of other things, "There's something funny about that goat!" like she got a feeling from it, like it wasn't dead. She went back once to look again -- no conclusion. She started to go back a second time, but someone came up and started talking, distracting her. The woman was saying that someone else had said they'd heard there was a letter from someone we knew who'd been missing. A guy... ? Later it was announced that the letter had actually arrived at Rose's house, and we were going home to read what had happened to this friend.

Meanwhile all the time I was planning to go and look for the goat. I had to see it for myself. I went with this little group of women -- we went through a house and out a complicated garage door, to back outside in the woods -- and as we walked and then paused at a stone stairway going down, the goat came up the stairs and stopped a little ways in front of me.

No one else really noticed, but I stretched out my hand and touched it. It was timid at first but then became more brave. It climbed onto the rock wall to the right of the stairs, and I followed it.

Then I was elsewhere in the woods, with the goat, who was a changeling: sometimes goat, sometimes human. He seemed to only speak Spanish but if I spoke slowly he could understand me. I had a book of his, like a bible only it was a list of numbered quotations -- there was a section of Lincoln quotes in the back but we weren't dealing with those -- the main section was his "creed" and I was trying to figure out the rules of his reality.

I slowly awoke as I was conversing with this intriguing creature, asking many questions.

********

This dream clearly had elements of yesterday in it but also had that feel of "information from beyond." I loved it. I was visited by a magical creature. I'm so glad I remembered it.

I'm feeling somewhat better so far today, so I'll leave in a short while to go clean Rose's and try to get back before the 8-12" of snow we're supposed to get today! How fun. No tour, no obligations. Just hit the wine shop and hunker down with knitting.

Oh -- Poolagirl suggested I might have to live on Cap'n Crunch and 7-up for a while. Of course (slaps forehead)! Why didn't I think of that? Captain Crunch isn't a FOOD, so it can't be on the forbidden list.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!