Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


A Lovely Late Afternoon on Nov. 19th

3:36 p.m.

Just taking a little break from the Big Apartment-Organizing Gala and deciding what to do until I go to my sib's for dinner. I'm sitting in the half-done living room enjoying the slanted late afternoon light as it beams through my plants and against the far wall, on which is hung some gorgeously sparkly meshy Indian fabricky things I got in Austin last year. They're all woven with silver sequins and beads and the wall color still shows through them, so they give the room a diaphanous, harem-y look.

(I was looking just now for another word for "boudoir" and discovered it's not in my built-in thesaurus, and neither is "bedroom." How can "bedroom" not be in a thesaurus?)

What I have accomplished today is most of the filing that was on the floor in the closet-turned-office. It was quite a pile. This had to be done before I could clear out the office enough to drag the bookmaking stuff into it. I'm still not sure it'll be a fit, but that has to be done before I can finish painting the living room. And then rearranging it.

Somehow I had the idea that I would complete this transition today, AND do errands, but the filing thing took a long time. And I did replace the sheers in my bedroom with the hugely long, royal turquoise sari that I brought home from the reclaimed sari shop in Austin this time. It's got a little pattern on it and is almost the color of the walls in the office. I'm trying to draw more of the sea colors out into the bedroom so the two rooms will make sense together. It certainly brightens up the room.

I decided to release a couple of things that my ex ex boyfriend, Steve, got me on a trip to N'awlins years ago. He went to visit a good friend and brought me back a beautiful red feather boa, and a pretty feather mask. They've hung on the wall in my bedroom all this time and I suddenly realized I no longer had any attachment to them and wanted to pass them along to someone else. Anyone want them? (The transition to friends was very amicable, no stressy or sad energy around them. Just pretty and fluffy.)

So anyway I sat here to do a little email -- I've removed the computer from the kitchen table, to separate eating from being online -- and the light was so nice, the way the leaves get all transparent when the sun comes through them sideways, I just wanted to sit here for a while. It reminds me that I never just sit. Okay, I'm not just sitting now, I'm typing, but I'm not actively trying to push myself into the next thing yet. Nice.

********

I stopped by Rose's last night to pick up a box that had come for me -- bras from La Senza in Canada, the only place I seem to find any that fit any more -- and four out of five fit, a very good percentage for me -- and they showed me all the period-correct light fixtures they've found on eBay for their old house. So beautiful! Marc is the king of buying and selling odd or rare stuff on eBay and Craig's List. They've done a little painting, their new silo is now full of corn to burn in the pellet stove, and now they're revising the vision of the kitchen based on the purchase of a circa 1900 enamel-on-steel double sink. Though the original part of the house dates from 1845, a big addition was put on around 1900 including the kitchen, so it's in keeping with the architecture. If they get it really right throughout, I wonder if one day they'll wake up in 1845, like in that Christopher Reeve movie, "Time and Again." That was a heartwrenching movie, wasn't it? But fascinating.

In spite of the temporal anomaly of the pocket watch.

Okay, the light has faded to ordinary early evening winter light, so I can get up and decide what to do next. :)


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!