Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


5th of November -- Lo, the Mouse

9:32 a.m.

I spent the afternoon cleaning as planned. Though it's a big job, it took me considerably less time than last week, since I'd gotten into a lot of the cracks the first time. I found a couple of things to clean that I'd missed before. Humming to myself, I passed through the kitchen and glanced out the window to see Apricot, a.k.a. Goiter, flipping something small and panicked around the yard.

In an instant I was out the back door, murmuring, "No, no, no, no, no!" Goiter left off his tormenting and started to walk up to me. I stepped over to the little mouse and bent down to assess its condition.

It looked a little broken.

Lest this phrase cause anxiety, I will say that at the end of this encounter I was convinced it was not broken at all. Mice play broken so they'll seem less interesting.

However, it's hard to get away from sharp teeth and claws when you're faking broken limbs, so it was wiggling mightily as I tried to pick it up the first time. It escaped my hands and fell back to earth, then was relatively still. I put my hands over it and started Reiki. Slowly I scooped it up and, covering it loosely with my other hand, took it to the porch and sat down.

Goiter wasn't much interested any more at this point. I sat with it for a few minutes, loving this soft little creature that was so shocked by its NDE. Gradually I felt minute stirrings. I peeked in. Breathing okay, eyes kind of squinting. I thought I'd take it up into the woods. I've heard that mice don't go far from their burrows, so the odds of it being caught again by the house were probably pretty good if it stayed there. Goiter doesn't seem to go far from the house either. Maybe safer up the hill.

So I took it gently up the hill and set it down in some leaves by the rock wall. It was still pretty scared and trying to decide whether to still act gimpy. But I was seeing evidence that all limbs were functional, no blood, eyes open, whiskers quivering, tail intact. It was so beautiful. Finally it disappeared under the leaves.

Then I thought, what if it already had a stash of seeds and stuff for winter? I've just removed it from its home. It'll either find its way back or have to start over. So I rummaged in the pantry and found some pumpkin seeds, and then added a little handful of kitty kibble. Mice will eat kibble, right? And that would be a nice justice. To eat the cat's food. I went back up the hill and put the little stash on the ground where it had disappeared.

Then I finished cleaning the house.

********

I found a streaming webcast on msnbc and stayed up way too late watching the election results. This whole time I've had a very strong, firm, quiet conviction, a hunch, an intuition, that Obama would win. A knowing. A really feel-good knowing. I am not erudite about politics. All I can say is that my gut tells me things are going to get better.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!