Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


Nov. 4, in the wee-est moments of the morning

12:06 a.m.

We weren't as rusty as we might have been after these three weeks of not playing. Rehearsal went fairly well and we even had time to talk about the future during our lunch break. Carol came up with a very interesting and possibly eminently workable plan.

We have a Florida tour in early February, then local gigs through mid March. Then we're taking a break for six months.

We'll resume in mid September, work through the Fall/Winter as much as we can, and do our February 2010 England tour. Then we either continue playing or call that our farewell tour and move on.

Continuing playing could mean playing everywhere we can, or just certain niche markets, to be determined along the way.

Aside from having to get a job and sell a lot of books, this is an immense source of relief to me! I'm so happy I won't have to gig for six months!

I really want to learn the cello.

********

My appointment with the homeopathic student was three hours. It felt very self indulgent, talking about myself for that long. I had license to be long winded, yet etiquette accused me of hogging the floor. I talked about the band, I talked about Will. I talked about my parents. I talked about eczema and what it feels like. I talked about finding home, about my love of dogs. Her big, brindle dog came up on the couch beside me and laid down to be scritched. He kept groaning loudly as we were hitting on some deep topic and then we'd laugh. It had been a long time since I played with a dog!

So she will take all this information and her pages of notes and assemble them into some kind of picture of me, and research her remedies and see which one fits my profile, my constitution, my angle. I may or may not get something before leaving for Texas. If not, she will send it south to meet me in Austin. Meanwhile I have to try to avoid the steroid cream. Aveeno baths, she said, and calendula gel. For a few hours today it didn't itch. Now it's fierce; seems to be worse later at night, early in the morning. The good news is that I did not fart once in anyone's presence today. I polluted no atmospheres. I killed no plants. I lit no matches. This is an improvement on the rest of the week.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!