Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 03, dogs barking outside

8:14 a.m.

I think I may have found the answer to this week's GI trivia question: "Why does everything I eat cause terrible flatulence and anxiety?"

Apparently many celiacs cannot tolerate Teeccino.

(A pause, while sounds of sobbing are heard.)

It's barley-based. Apparently, actual coffee is better tolerated among this elite, chosen tribe than most coffee substitutes. The protein in barley isn't exactly gluten, but it's a kissin' cousin. I haven't had any actual barley since the great experiment began, so there's no track record to indicate a reaction. But I've been drinking teeccino every morning to get off the coffee.

Let me sit here sighing for a moment, as I listen to the slight creaking sound of my world getting just a teeny bit smaller. I did find an ayurvedic product I might order called "Raja cup" that looks very interesting. And I am in an outflow of compassion reading posts from people whose lives are much more difficult than mine. It can take even more than a week sometimes for the body to muster up antibodies to something, and by then it's hard to tell what was to blame. One woman writes:

"Thank you! I thought I had read threads where people talked about delayed reaction. If that is the case, it could be the Bayer aspirin or another I took (local brand) that I could only find info on from 3 years ago. It's so incredibly frustrating that it is so difficult to locate the culprit with this condition! Sometimes I just think it isn't gluten at all, just I can't tolerate ANY foods! I'm so leery of trying ANYTHING new, especially processed, and I already exclude so much, it's hard to eat! I know many feel this but I still feel like I'm going crazy sometimes. I wish I could get to a "run" where I do okay for, say, a couple of weeks or more? I'm at the 5 month mark and hungry and thin! Thank you again!"

I just wanted to cry when I read this.

--

I posted a private entry last night, feeling out of sorts and sullen, sad. Woke up earlyish but not pre-dawn, as I have a long day ahead with no nap opps. My fingers itch. At least I'll have something to show my homeopath acquaintance, soon to be friend. She might show up some more here, so I'll call her Lily. She's a tad older than I (maybe 50s), very pretty with long gray hair. Even though it's all around a big problem, I'm really looking forward to seeing how these interviews go. If I can get through today's rehearsal without tearing my fingers up with strumming I'll be pleased.

And the living room is looking pretty good.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!