Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 18, 2008

8:52 p.m.

Talks

James called today -- we've been bantering back and forth on email, funny names, spoofs of Mervyn Peake's characters -- he hated "Gormenghast" though I recommended it -- I've laughed and spit on my computer, I've laughed again while driving. We talked a while and he helped me flesh out the current state of things. I forgot to ask him if he still was interested in the djembe. It was good to talk to him. He's a little wrought up again, as he gets, struggling with two sides. Part of him wants to be a very spiritual, light and bright person, calm, mellow. The other part is earthy, rooty, worldly, wants notoriety and strokes and sensual pleasures. Are the two parts really incompatible? Can they both reside in a person without rankling one another?

Rose also called, delighted with the B&B goodies. Dar sent flowers as planned, so the caper was complete.

I sit with a glass of wine, per Jesse Winchester's instructions. (If you care to, search for "Little Glass of Wine" by him on iTunes. You'll only get a snippet I suppose, but it's my current favorite song.) There are fruit flies here. A pear got overripe in the bowl and suddenly there they were. Now that the pear is out of reach, they wander all over the apartment looking for a job. When I pour the wine they smell it from the living room, the bathroom. They congregate here. There were quite a few last night. I ended up getting out my little canister vac and vacuuming them out of the air. It's the only way to catch them, really. I felt quite like an eccentric old lady, sitting here with my sawed-off shotgun, waiting for them to waft near my glass. I imagined having to explain to someone what I was doing. I do this a lot, actually; perhaps I have some doubt as to my validity here and feel I have to keep reassuring myself that there's a reason I'm as odd and persnickety as I am. Or maybe I just like the sound of my voice.

It's rare that I just kill stuff. I'm also thinking about letting a few of my plants go that a) didn't fare well while I was gone, and b) are ones that I was given, which have never done terribly well here in the first place. It's hard for me to just decide to let a plant die. Cruel. But I need to create some space around the windows. It's too crowded. I must simplify. I'll ask the plant spirits to forgive me.

The fruit flies, though; I don't, somehow, feel the need to ask their forgiveness. I'm just sending them on to their next lives. Maybe because it's a quick demise. Well, not the ones in the vacuum cleaner I guess, but the ones I smacked.

I like to make things as complicated as possible because it allows me to put off cleaning my room.

I did unpack, though, and put the suitcases away. Small progressions lead to great accomplishments.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!