Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 09, 2008

10:13 a.m.

Six Impossible Things before Breakfast, Or at Least by Lunchtime

The suitcase came in yesterday and was delivered to the band's house an hour away, so I just have to pick it up today. Happy day.

Rose neglected to open two credit card bills which are now overdue, so I had to make phone calls. I got the late fee waived on one, and the other one is brand new so they said I have to request it again after I've paid the bill. I'm not going to say anything to Rose because she's up to her eyeballs and she did the best she could.

I feel slightly less compassionate towards my neighbor, who killed the jasmine again, it seems, for good. Time will tell if anything grows back this time but, for heaven's sake, it's up a flight of STAIRS to water these plants. She said she'd be up twice a week, but they were bone dry when I arrived home and the truth is she just forgets. "I'm not good with plants," she says. No; you just don't pay attention to plants. If you actually look at them, with your eyes, and perceive that the soil is arid and there are little dust devils twirling across the surface, and little bleached cow-skulls sticking out, then you know you have to water them. That's not being "good" with plants; it's just using a small part of your human brain.

I have to let it go. I called the local greenhouse and they're open every day and they have jasmines. I don't want to throw this one out in case there's life in it still, but I may go get another one anyway.

She also didn't bother to close any of my windows, although it's October now and the nights are cold.

I didn't bring her any presents.

I paid bills and did debits and returned phone calls and made appointments for car and hair. I started a gift bag for my family's gifts from England (two of which are in the big suitcase). I made up this month's window invoices. Now I shall gather laundry together, take a quick shower and have a little lunch before heading out.

I'll pop by Wes's place and say hello, and pick up my down comforter which is in his storage area. Then to the post office in Coventry, who seem to think I'm having my mail permanently forwarded to my sister's new house (?). Then to pick up my luggage, and then to Rose's for laundry fest and dinner.

I'm still kind of jetlagged and headache-y. Trying to cut back on the caffeine, which became a dietary staple while I was away. I depart these premises again tomorrow at 7:15am. At least we're not flying, and it's only five days. And by the time we get back we should have all our England money available from the bank transfer (fingers crossed), and then we can get paid for the last month and a half.

Now I'm eating a wonderful Macoun apple from the local Wholefoods. My favorite of all apples. I used to sell these when I worked at the farm stand -- 11 summers I did this -- and when the crates came in I'd select a few of the most perfect ones, in the best state of ripeness, for my own purchase. Too early and they're too green; later in the season they get too soft, when the purplish-red blush becomes more red than purple and the flesh loses its snap. These are just right. I'm treating my body well.

Oh, and the dendrobium is blooming. :)


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!