Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 23, 2008

4:49 p.m.

A Cup of Tea and a Schedule Change

Our plan was to leave around 5am tomorrow to drive the 7-1/2 hours south to Devon, on little winding roads, and arrive in time to rest at the B&B before the long sound check and recording setup. Chris had already loaded the newly rented PA into the van, and we'd rehearsed, and I'd almost gotten my suitcase switcheroo du jour sorted out... and then we went out for groceries.

Beef stew. Root veggies, wine, tomatoes. Yum. Our last leisurely feast before the ridiculously long and arduous day and the last long stretch of gigs.

But Chris and I got home and Carol said there'd been news: two prominent people in the little village where we're booked tomorrow have died. One earlier this week and one today. We're not sure who they were or how they died, but the village is mourning and our gig has been cancelled.

With pay.

So we're sorry that something terrible happened, but also unexpectedly relaxed with our found slice of time.

We assembled the stew together, cleaned the kitchen and put our gear back into the shop for Thursday's loadout. We have the whole evening and tomorrow off with no obligation.

I'm trying not to put too glad a face on someone else's misfortune, but I'm really thrilled and grateful.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!