Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 24, 2008

11:53 a.m.

Scattered Clouds and the Sound of Lawnmowers

I've discovered the wonder of Skype. My brother in law suggested I look into it as a way to forward my phone messages to my computer while I'm out of the country. With a local Skype number I can actually call home, from England, as if it were a local call, AND my loved ones can call me (as long as my computer's on) without incurring any overseas charges. The subscriptions are cheap as anything and I also have video chatting with other Skype users. It's free to download and one can either pay a little as they call, or (better) get a subscription for unlimited calling.

And I have learned of the miracle of Magnesium, which instantly and completely alleviates constipation without that pesky habit-forming quality of laxatives.

Can life possibly get any better??

Yes!! It can!! An English fan has written to me asking if he can get sheet music for one of my raucously funny, polyphonic parody songs. It so happens I have it, so he's meeting us at the Swanage Festival with money in hand.

On the scary side of life, I finally opened about five months' worth of bank statements and faced that music. There were a lot of entries I hadn't put in my register, so I have several hundred dollars less than I thought. It's okay, though, I tell myself; be still, beating heart; the rent is paid through October and you'll come back with money to deposit.

Speaking of my beating heart, I just remembered that I woke up around 4am to pee, and noticed that my heart was really beating quickly, as though I'd had a bad dream. I think I read recently that perimenopause can bring that on at night, along with the night sweats and chills, but I don't remember ever having it before. It's possible I dreamed it, too.

********

In my new house I am going to have several jasmine plants. Catching a sudden whiff of their aroma is like being kissed by a fond memory.

********

Okay, much to do today. I've puttered until almost noon; it's time to be productive.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!