Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 20, 2008

11:53 p.m.

Happy Day, Containing the Dance of Joy

The first great thing is that, on the very cliff-edge of financial destituteness, I sold six books and a Reiki session today for a total of $305. Most of those dollars were unexpected.

The next great thing is that I got a massage, and I think no one ever feels so grateful about life as when one is receiving a massage.

My friend who bought most of the books is a wonderful artist, and we talked about collaborating on book/art projects and doing fairs together. Nice.

Then I got my roots done, and I have carroty-sunny hair once again. The blond stays, the red tends to fade over the weeks. My stylist said there's nothing wrong with putting a little carrot juice in my conditioner every so often and leaving it in for several minutes, just to revive the color a bit. I thought that was a cool idea and even cooler that she would suggest it.

She does miniature oil paintings on eBay -- if you care to, go to eBay and search for "Cherylville" under art. They're very sweet -- floral arrangements mostly. She also resells vintage books (30s and 40s) about art instruction. I asked her how many items she sells, and she said 80-100 things a month, between the paintings, the prints, and the books. What a great little side business!

Working from home. I like it.

********

The next great thing is that Carol got us another gig in England, for #500. That's another thousand bucks. What a relief. Maybe we'll make a little money on this trip after all.

********

There is an awful lot of food in the fridge. In five days I must conspire to eat or distribute ten eggs, an almost full tub of hummus, leftover chicken, leftover broccoli and sweet potatoes, two to three servings of pea soup, broccolini, a large bunch of kale, half a tomato, half a package of carrots, three quarters of a large onion, and one white potato. Then there's most of a bottle of kefir. Not to mention the two oranges and two peaches I got today, the bag of cherries and the strawberries I got yesterday, and the locally grown, sour blueberries I found at the co-op.

I guess I'll just stay home all weekend and eat.

No, rats. I have rehearsal Friday and Saturday both. Pesky. This having to continually be ready for gigs is so repetitious.

Tomorrow, maybe a dry run of packing and/or a trip to Manchester for a back adjustment. I'm so overdue. Also my box might have come from Amazon, with the bookbinding book and the other stuff. It'll be at Rose's office so if I get an adjustment I'm conveniently mere feet from her building.

********

I know you want to know this -- I finally found teeccino, for which I'd been looking for weeks. They've gone from a canister to a bag; that's why I didn't recognize it. It was right where I was looking, all along.

Crash. I just crashed, finally. It's a grateful sort of crash; grateful in that way that one is when one hasn't had indigestion all day, when one has made a little surprise money. The TotalGym is put away; the Reiki table is out, and I think I'll leave it up. Maybe get myself up there tomorrow. Nights are definitely getting cooler. I like that.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!