Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 11, 2008

8:11 p.m.

Hungry, New Stove Notwithstanding

England biz, book biz. Sold a CD to someone in Belgium. At times I feel very alive, strangely alive, like when one fasts. At other times I feel so deep-down cell-hungry I wish I had a big turkey sandwich with swiss, lettuce and tomato, thousand island dressing and pickles.

I wonder when I'll ever be able to eat something like that again.

I emailed our agent with my food restrictions and she pretty much threw up her hands and said, "You're welcome to cook for yourselves!" I can see how it would look like a tangled web to the uninitiated.

Still sometimes I have a little indigestion; it comes and goes. Mainly it's gone, though tonight I've eaten probably more things at once than is strictly optimal. I couldn't help it. I'm starting to feel anxious about leaving again.

However, it was a great day and we even had some musical thunderstorms in the afternoon, as I glued book covers and sorted paper. I mailed some posters for a gig, mailed my box of supplements to England (saving a great deal of room in my suitcase, but costing plenty) and the CD to Belgium. I've been listening to a lot of back-episodes of Radio Lab on my iPod -- I was astounded at how many were on there -- and that's been engrossing. Tonight, the rest of The Song of Bernadette. Very 40's; the Holy Virgin looks a bit like Glinda the Good Witch but without the sparkly stuff. Fun to see Vincent Price as a relatively young man, though.

So I'll close with one further observation, and that is that gluten-free cookies sweetened with fruit juice taste like ASS.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!