Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 08, 2008

10:35 p.m.

Merry Meet

Band meeting, good lunch, tomfoolery with jester and magician's hats with flashing lights. It took a long time to hash it all out, partly because Carol forgot to bring her all-important calendar with all the tentative stuff on it. Still we came up with a rough picture of the next year or so. We go like mad through the middle of October, then get a week and a half off. Then off the second half of November, all of December except for two gigs, and all of January '09. Then Florida for a couple of weeks and a smattering of other things in February. Try to fill March, April and May, then take June off and try to gig as much as possible in July and half of August...

...at which point, if all goes well and we all get accepted, we'd plan to go to MacDowell together for half of August and all of September. May the fates smile upon us. I'd still go to make books; we'd try to be ready to do a recording project there too. I'm uncertain whether we should all apply as music collaborators and have emailed someone in admissions to see if they think we'd stand a better chance of all getting in that way. Just peeking into my psyche here, I'd rather be acknowledged for bookmaking skills this time. I don't want to live the "secret life" again. No more closet bookbinding! I want the world to know!

The rest of the year after that, we don't have anything yet.

We're back from England and Portugal for TWO DAYS, I'm talking about TWO DAYS, and then we fly to Georgia. Insane.

********

I found out that I wasn't eligible for a subsidy check. That's why I haven't gotten one. I didn't make enough money. How come the ones who need it more don't get it at all? It's not like I didn't work my butt off for the greater good of mankind.

Enough. It will not always be so.

********

I took myself to the movies tonight and saw Wall*E. Pretty darling movie. I mainly wanted the popcorn. It was great to about three inches down, then it got really salty, like they'd first stuffed the bag with the bottom of a batch. Ick.

But I did get 2 sweet pairs of pants at the Salvy today for $4 each, and I may have solved the gig shoes problem for England.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!