Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


From Sunday, June 29, 2008

7:48 p.m.

From Sunday, June 29th

Back from Connecticut.

Our gig was miraculous. It�s always a nice gig at this restaurant, but for some reason this time it was exceptional. Just the right mix of old fans and new blood. The audience was effusive, clapping after solos and whooping in the middle of songs, getting all the funny lines and not even minding our puns. The new song I wrote for Chris to sing is a consistent hit. After one of the silly ones I�d written (about a love/hate relationship with a cell phone, including lots of txt lingo), Margo said, �That Bornearly... what must it be like to live in her mind?� which was unlike anything she�s ever said onstage, and therefore particularly amusing.

I�d had a busy couple of days. We rehearsed our sets on Thursday, where I came directly from MacDowell, and Jerry�s Artarama was having a sale, Carol had a coupon, and I needed some art supplies, so I wended my way (went my way? Is went the past tense of wend?) (further note: yes, I just looked it up; originally, today I wend, yesterday I went.) to West Hartford for more expensive, large, handmade papers (drool) and a few other things. I�m so happy when I have an hour to browse art supplies.

And why was I doing this? I can�t remember where I left off last entry, and I�m offline right now so can�t check -- but last week I was having all this existential and moral angst over songwriting, or the lack thereof, and gradually concluded that I should be doing something else here. It may still involve songs, this idea I got at 4:15a.m. on Thursday morning, but it also involves bookmaking and multimedia art. Thus the need for a few adjustments to the stockpile.

After one thing and another I ended up eating dinner around 9:00 on Thursday. The apartment was hot and some plants were suffering. I did what I could. I slept surprisingly well in my own bed, considering the change in noise levels. I did not mind the white noise machine and the fan, offsetting random noise outside.

Friday: much organizing and packing. I had to go through my bookmaking supplies to decide what I could leave behind (not much), and find ways to organize objects of varying size, shape and weight. With my budding idea in mind, I imagined ornamentations, went to the hardware store for hinges, segregated buttons by color.

Everything fit into the car: stacking drawer bins, a little canister vacuum, various bags and boxes of things, paper cutter, paper reams, book board, painting supplies, cooler, even the Reiki table and the rolled up bedding. My guitar stood up sideways behind the driver�s seat -- I had no idea I could pack it that way. Off I went to the gig, feeling like an artist.

Oh -- some very good news came in, too. My financial aid application for MacDowell was reviewed and I got their top amount - $1,000, which will be coming here in check form in the next two weeks. Huzzah!

The drive back was foggy, a little rainy, and slow. I got pulled over for speeding on a small road but the nice cop gave me a warning. I�m always glad I�m articulate in circumstances where I might possibly be in big trouble. Anyway I was very grateful he let me off, because I�d really had no idea how fast I was going or what the speed limit was. It was about 1:00 when I finally got here, bleary, and loaded everything inside the studio. I�ve been going to bed around 11:00 here and getting up before 6:30 most days, so it felt like a couple of very late nights.

Owing to the hour I opted out of breakfast this morning, although I miss my fellows. I felt like Dorothy coming back from Oz, missing them in that tender way and saying, �I had a dream, and you, and you... and you were there!� How odd, this reversal of residence.

So this morning I have set up my new intention. I hope it goes well. Now the hard part.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!