Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 12, 2008

10:28 p.m.

There Is Just Nothing Wrong

Second half of Reiki level 3 tonight. It was such a fun, cozy class. There were only 2 students besides the teacher and myself, the auditor. We shared all sorts of fun stories and laughed. I'd cancelled all my afternoon plans in favor of trying out a tiny-little-handmade-journal idea, and decided on a whim to bring three of them in to pass around. The covers are embedded with wildflowers (it's plantable paper) and there's a little bow closure. There are just two sections of paper inside (several pages each), but they're hand bound with waxed bookbinding thread:

I made the heart stencil and did it with acrylic paints. Simple, elegant, sweet.

I cannot express how satisfying this was today. The place is looking more chaotic than ever, with me being partially packed, fans everywhere, laundry begging to be done. It felt good to just go into the living room and put on a spacey CD and hunker down with my exacto blade, ruler and beautiful papers. As always when I do this kind of work, I thought, "I could do this every day of my life and be happy."

********

Now I want to talk to you about marshmallows. I'm addressing all of you who don't consider yourselves marshmallow people. I, too, was apathetic towards the fluffy, gelatinous sweet until the other day when I found some homemade ones at Wholefoods (see last entry). Cut into rough cubes and packaged less than a dozen per bag, they come in vanilla, chocolate and coconut. I have to rave again about these because I know you haven't gone out to Wholefoods and gotten any yet. But you must. They are unbelievable. They're better than a day at the circus.

********

I don't know why I said that about the circus. Actually, on second thought, I see why; it's because the label on this bag, that says "tiny trapeze confections," has a little drawing of a trapeze in a spotlight on it. The catch phrase below is, "sweet madness without a net." No capitals. They're velvety. They're chewy. You can feel all the little tiny (very tiny) air bubbles collapsing and melding as you chew them into a firmish but gooey blob.

********

I think I must make a few more little fairy books before bed. Oh, I am enjoying life right now. As long as I don't look at the piles of stuff everywhere. Dum de dummm.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!