Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 06, 2008

6:23 p.m.

Fear and Elation

Oh, such a long work and driving day. I feel all relaxed knowing that we have no more gigs before retreat, and we have no more school shows until November.

I've made a sort of mock Tom Ka Gai soup, not having all the proper ingredients and some of them being Job Lot quality, but it's as close as I'm gonna get to proper Thai food tonight. My town could really use a good Thai restaurant.

We did the show in a 100-year-old theatre that is part of the elementary school. It was really beautiful, with the old wooden seats and floors. There were risers in front of the stage that they use for musical programs, and Carol kept referring to them as "rafters" so for a while Chris and I didn't know what she was talking about. She hates it when I correct her, but when she says "rafters" all morning after we've established that they're really risers, I think I should be exempt from criticism. Especially since one is on the floor and the other is on the ceiling.

Then in the car we were talking about quilting, and none of us could come up with the name for when you just tie a knot in a quilt at different spots instead of quilting the whole thing. I had dialled Rose's number and let it ring a few times before I remembered it's called tufting. We were all very tired and I had to spell Chris a while driving so he could nap in the back seat. At other times we sang the theme songs to The Flintstones, Gilligan's Island, and The Beverley Hillbillies as loudly as possible. Oh, and Green Acres. We had a little trouble with the bridge on the Flintstones song, though, and I know you can't remember it either, so here are the lyrics for your edification and so you won't be up at 2am trying to remember them:

Flintstones! Meet the Flintstones!
They're the modern stone age family.
From the town of Bedrock
They're a page right out of history.

Let's ride with the family down the street
Through the courtesy of Fred's two feet!

When you're with the Flintstones
You'll have a yabba dabba do time
A dabba do time
You'll have a gay old time!

I know that's a weight off your shoulders.

********

I came home to find that the back fence is being repaired. A couple of sections have been hanging by a hinge for some time. I squeezed into my downstairs neighbor's second parking space, since both of mine were now occupied by horizontal fence sections. I like that Sunny gets around to this stuff. Her parents were very nice landlords but they really didn't do much on the property unless a toilet was broken.

It's starting to dawn on me that I'm going away for six weeks. I'm coming to accept the fear and the elation of it.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!