Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 02, 2008

7:34 p.m.

A Lot of Driving, a Moment of Panic, and some Cranberry Orange Cake

Yesterday's Driveway Concert was fun, albeit a tad eccentric. It was only a one-car garage, so we wouldn't have fit widthwise in the doorway. Instead we set up in a way that we could bring things forward once the garage door was raised. We also used our headset mics that we have for the school show, thus removing the need for microphone stands. One compromises a little, as every breath, "ahem," burp, yawn, and "oops" can be heard unless one mutes one's battery pack. Harmonies have to be consciously softer, rather than standing a little farther from the mic.

Shortly after we set up, I began to get really dizzy.

I've had touches of this before, and I know it's sinus congestion, probably a little inner ear issue, and Sudafed usually clears it right up. This time it was intense -- the world was really tipping -- and even Sudafed and Zyrtec took a couple of hours to get on the other side of it. By showtime it was much better, thank goodness.

I'd forgotten a couple of clothing items for the overnight trip, but was able to borrow a belt and a longsleeved top from Rose and Pearl.

We'd set up the speakers outside the garage and Marc played his iPod through them like party music, so their presence wouldn't look suspicious. Guests trickled in, brought food, mingled in the tiny back yard. When it was time for us to start we turned on our mics, which broadcast even from the kitchen (where we had a view of the back yard). We started an a cappella song from in the house, and walked out singing partway through. Marc said later that seeing realization sweep across the faces of the guests was very satisfying.

So we played a nice set, which seemed fraught with lots of tuning and so forth so I wouldn't call it a tight performance, but we played well, did a couple of new songs, and then had some really amazing cake someone brought with whipped cream and strawberries soaked in brandy.

Eventually we left for our night's lodging: my mates to southern Connecticut, and I to James's house in New Jersey, which turned out to be about 8 minutes from the school at which we were due this morning.

********

It gets increasingly odd for me to stay at James's -- not anything to do with the welcome he extends me, or how nice his squeeze Nancy is, but maybe the feeling that he's moved on to such an extent makes me shy about taking up space there. It's incredibly convenient sometimes -- witness his proximity to today's venue -- but I find, unexpectedly, that in some way it is I who have not moved on. I don't mind knowing he's deeply involved with someone, when I'm up here. But now when I'm at his house I'm usually relating to them as a couple, and it does take away somewhat from the "friend" relationship I had with him, post-dating. They're talking about moving in together, and they said his daughter was having a hard time dealing with the idea. She's home for the summer and I guess things are a little rough between her and her dad at the moment.

So I review all I've felt and chosen regarding James, and I feel solid in all my decisions; even seeing him I have no desire to revisit any part of our dating relationship. They look like a great couple and I think she's just what he was looking for. All good. So my sadness is around kind of losing a friend, rarely being able to relate to him as just James, and having very little opportunity to even talk with him on the phone because he's spending most of his free time with his lady.

I guess that's what happens to people who really want to be coupled.

********

I arrived first at the school, a few minutes after eight this morning. Sitting in the parking lot I reviewed what I would have to bring in from the car, and it was then I realized I'd forgotten my laptop.

You know, the one with the Keynote presentation on it.

That we use in our kids' show.

********

Shaking, I called Carol on my cell and told her, in a very frightened voice, what had happened. The Keynote presentation is, well, key -- not only does it enhance and support and illustrate everything we say, do and sing for forty-five minutes -- but it's the way we keep the attention of kids who learn primarily with visual reinforcement.

The short story is, our contacts at the school were terribly nice about it and allowed us to reschedule the program for this Friday. We were able to see the beautiful theatre where we'll be holding it. They have Science Fair all week and so instead of kicking it off, we'll be the conclusion. We're rehearsing Thursday anyway, so I'll stay over and we'll leave the house at the ungodly hour of 5:00am to get to the school by eight.

Afterwards the three of us stood by our cars, laughing about it (we have ALL forgotten critical pieces of equipment on tour), and I said I thought surely I'd be fired. Carol said, "Oh, we're not letting you off that easy! I think a better punishment would be to make you stay IN the band." And so I am; through Friday, at least, so that we can get paid.

********

My jasmine is throwing boufs all over the kitchen; the air was so sweet today, I had the window fans set to Incoming, and the birds are crying out in their own Keynote presentations, all over these huge, ancient maple trees. There is a new crop of squirrels in the back now -- I've never seen so many here, ever -- and they're constantly chasing each other, over and around everything in sight. Tomorrow it's supposed to be hot, but I still want to get in a hike. I don't know what's happened to running; I've lost my running legs, but all I want to do is walk right now.

Oh -- and the cranberry orange cake -- from Trader Joe's, not bad for a low fat sweet. Yes, it's wheat-based.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!