Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 08, 2008

1:16 p.m.

Screening

Spending several hours today troubleshooting an installation on my old Dell... boy, this shit leads down a wormhole. I think I intuitively knew this would happen and that's why I've been putting it off. New virus software -- but it keeps disabling my 2Wire connection, so I'm having trouble activating the software.

I do feel, however, like Yanni with his multiple keyboards, what with the wireless computer with the corded mouse, and the wired computer with the wireless keyboard and mouse on the pullout tray... a little melody here, a little bass line there.

I spent a lovely hour in the state forest yesterday. There I witnessed a flock of wild turkeys, a bevy of wild roses, and various wiggly things under rocks in a stream. Today I have to make myself finish drawing/painting my website logo. The installation here is all part of that business -- I have to get the Dell back online so I can use that particular version of Front Page to design the site. I'm not happy with the updated version I spent a lot of money for on eBay. I thought I'd be doing myself a favor, but in fact the older one is more user-friendly and I can't find a copy of that anywhere. I got it from my ex-brother in law, and asking him to dig it up at work again isn't an option. Wah! Why do so many things I love get discontinued? Underwear, bras, socks, hair color, software. Don't they know how important I am? I have a tiara, for heaven's sake.

One hour later -- that reminded me that I still needed to get a tiara for Carol. That done, it's time for a late lunch. Where the heck does the day go? No wonder I often feel like I don't get enough done. And yet... and yet... there are moments when it still feels like everything is all right.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!