Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 27, 2008

12:56 p.m.

Sunday Off

Semi busy week, but I'm chilling too... making plans for the big 50th birthday bash, the Fabulous Dual Semicentennial, which Carol and I have decided to hold in June. Earlier than we originally planned, but later in the year posed problems. Invitations have trickled out; we're waiting for most of the responses and trying to decide what ritual elements we'll include.

Last week saw the reemergence of the Total Gym; my upper bod workouts have been few, and if I'm not going to get myself to the gym (now that I can run outside) I'd better do something at home. Sore, but feels good.

I had a nice dinner party last night with Rose, Marc and Pearl, at which I served an ambitious (for me) and completely successful menu: roasted vegetables with fresh thyme, tortellini spinach soup, orange marmalade chicken and a light version of pumpkin pie that was excellent. Marc consented to switch out the ceiling light fixture in my bathroom and put in a dimmer switch, and now it looks complete in there. So beautiful! No more rusty "wedding cake" ceiling light. The colors make me tipsy.

Rose is counting points again. I'm relieved. She'd put on quite a bit of weight since last summer and I know it was troublesome to her. Pearl is counting too, so she has support in the house. Marc is "Mr. Bacon" so the whole thing mystifies him somewhat.

They had a funny anecdote about their mailbox -- it was old and rusty, and too small for the things they were receiving. Rose tried to get him to agree on getting a new, bigger one, but he balked at the $29 and said he'd fix up the old one. With much rolling of eyes, Rose let him sand, Bondo, and paint the relic (I'm talking from around 1960) what they thought would be a nice, muted brick color... but which turned out "Spank-Ass Red," according to Pearl -- so bright that the mailman even commented on it. So now they have a screaming neon mailbox that is still too small. So digs about the mailbox abound. I suspect a new, bigger one is in their future.

Meanwhile I'd bought some calcium chews from Wholefoods that, it turned out, contain a gram of fat in each one. I'm supposed to take three of these a day, and I'll be danged if I'm going to ingest three random, additional grams of fat just to get calcium. So they've been sitting around, and I offered them to Rose last night and she said emphatically No. Marc looked puzzled and said, "A gram of fat? What's the big deal?"

"That's three grams of fat a day!" Rose cried. "Twenty-one extra grams of fat per WEEK!"

Marc blinked uncomprehendingly.

"That's almost a mailbox a week!" I explained. Marc's eyebrows lifted. Suddenly, light dawned over Marblehead.*

(*Marblehead's a town on Cape Cod. That's a little New England saw with a nice, homey double-entendre.)

Beyond all that, and taking care of a lot of business this week (including car maintenance, a tour of the local recycling facility and a brand new hairdo!), I've finally dived into the last installment of Harry Potter. It's going all too fast!

Oh -- I also audited a Reiki Level II class yesterday, and got reattuned to those symbols. It was great. These refreshers remind me of things I've let slip my memory.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!