Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 10, 2008

11:19 p.m.

Seventies

As in, degrees, not in age. It was a beautiful, beautiful day. Wes and I hiked a good long time, walked out of the woods and found ourselves across from the Eggman's house, so we dropped in. Eccentric as always. He's grown a beard since I saw him last summer. Gave us wellies to go tramping around the back field in, to look at the guinea hens. He's more rules and regs now, trying to be more businesslike about the business. Health code says strangers can't go wandering among the birds, and tick population says interlopers must wear boots anyway. Eggman has had lyme disease several times.

After a prolonged conversation, mostly on the Eggman's part, we parted jovially and made our way back to the car, a half hour or so away. It was warmish, it was breezy, the woods are still brown but the peepers are out by the still pools and Natchaug River moves steadily on the Spring rains.

I came home and meant a quick turnaround for paint at Home Depot and groceries, as it was already after 5:00. But I got waylaid at the little mall here, looking for Celebrancy clothes, and after a few hits finding nothing I hit paydirt. I selected two skirts, a pair of capris, three blouses, a sweater, a light brocade overjacket, various jewelry and a scarf, and bought them ALL. It's more money than I personally have spent on clothes in probably two or three years, and it's going to sting when I get the next credit card bill, what with all that was already on it -- but one hired gig will pay for the clothes, and I needed something more professional and girly than my gig clothes. Voila. I'm entranced.

Ate dinner very late then, almost falling over from emptiness, and put the first coat of paint on the little bookcase. Dar called -- I'd sent him a box of Familia muesli, which he's said he can't find anywhere any more, and didn't tell him it was coming. He said he almost screamed when he opened it up, he was so excited. I laughed and said I was glad to be of use.

So rehearsal tomorrow and a little bitty local gig -- maybe 3 songs in a night of various other things, so low key and low responsibility. I'll wear one of my new outfits. This weekend the rains come and it'll be colder again, but I just know it's only temporary...


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!