Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 25, 2008

10:41 a.m.

The Bass-is of a Good Friendship

It's sunny today; the three ladybugs, the fly, and the longterm resident spider in my bathroom are happy.

I had a short-notice visit last night from Wes and his elfin ladyfriend, B. They've gotten tighter since Wes and I began seeing less of each other last Thanksgiving or so. They'd come by to drop off the bass, handed to them by Chris earlier in the evening. I invited them in and offered wine, which they enthusiastically accepted. We sat in my cozy living room and had a really lovely visit. It felt like the beginning of a new era. I had the private sense that B. knows everything that went on between me and Wes last Fall. And that felt okay. To my surprise, my circle of friends just got a wee bit bigger.

We talked about the wayward gig of last weekend, about talking to stuffed animals and house spirits, and the comparative merits (or demerits) of various brands of donuts. B. was a little loose from the wine, and I kept peeking at her light, off-the-shoulder peasant blouse. She's such a delicate little slipper, and Wes is so tall and big; I pictured him draping her around his neck like a towel and striding, Tarzan-like, off into the jungle.

********

Speaking of body types... I witnessed a frightening individual at the gym yesterday. A young woman was going like mad on one of the elliptical machines as I went into a side room to stretch. My eyes went from her feet upwards, and I realized about halfway up that this woman had a severe eating disorder, because her arms were about as big around as the stem of a largish sunflower. I couldn't understand how she was even animating herself. It put my little dessert habit into perspective in a snap.

********

I'm just about done decorating my shaker eggs. I'm very happy with them. Plenty of sparkle and color.

Homework today, class tonight; bass practice, and maybe I'll clear off the kitchen table so I can start some sewing repair projects. Warm weather, hurry.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!