Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 23, 2008

12:25 a.m.

Shake It A-Baby

So I got up late last night to pee, and as I passed the microwave I looked at the clock, and what do you think it said?

1:11!

So the One fairies are still hovering around. Tonight I got home from my gig and turned on the computer and it was 12:21. All this numerical symmetry. I like it.

Our gig was a little tough; we're under-rehearsed from being apart, and though we did all we could this afternoon to prepare, there were still hiccups, especially Carol who started the night by breaking a string on her little Nashville-tuned guitar, which threw the rest of the tuning out of whack. Then she blew a few chunks on another song because she couldn't hear her keyboard adequately.

I didn't have any train wrecks, but I didn't feel I was funny; we had to time our set so carefully because we were opening and sometimes we end up not getting into our usual state of hilarity because we're watching the clock. Rose and Marc said the instruments were too loud in the house, and drowned out words a little bit; plus they had an inordinate amount of reverb on the vocals, apparently, which made it all rather mushy.

In spite of all this and how we felt about it, we sold a lot of CDs, so hallelujia. We did a long opener set for Wes's duo, and it was exactly the second time I've seen him since mid-November.

Pennsylvania next weekend; tomorrow, homework and a movie I borrowed, and continuing to paint shaker eggs.



|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!