Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


February 13, 2008

3:20 p.m.

Wet

Torrential rain and warmish. It's been raining ALL DAY, ever since the moment this morning when it stopped being way below freezing. It is allegedly 54 degrees outside, and I mean it is coming down. I've never seen rain like this here. My friend Melissa (with whom I've been exchanging massages for Reiki sessions -- don't remember what I've called her before, but henceforth she'll be Melissa) came over today for her Reiki session and arrived dripping. It was a very pleasant time. I got to work on a specific issue she was having inside near the shoulder blade, and use a technique I had never tried before. She said she felt it "rattling around" while I was working on it, like it was being dislodged. Good medicine. Then we had lunch (my fabulous buffalo chipotle chili) and talked about art and paper-making and gardens. I can see why she doesn't want to leave her house -- the one she built on co-purchased land with her boyfriend before they'd even decided to commit to one another -- it nourishes her in so many ways. But the house is now an excuse to not be dealing with what is unsatisfactory in the relationship. Boy do I remember not dealing with a relationship...

Chris and Carol had no power at their house today, meaning no heat or water. Carol said she was dancing around the living room at first in glee. Then after a while it just got really cold and they were huddled miserably, wondering what to do for themselves. They had hair appointments, so went to those, knowing that at least their hair would be clean. Meanwhile I had to call for an appointment, and by that time they were already there. We're just taking over the place. A while later Chris called me in the middle of his root job, to talk about art-selling possibilities on eBay. Our stylist does miniature landscapes and sells a ton of them -- there's a category of art that's no bigger than 2-1/2" by 3-1/2", and you can even have an image that size attached to a larger thing like a card and it still qualifies. We've been talking about doing these greeting cards as a band project, and this seems like a fun way to market them, in addition to having them on the CD table. I went and looked around in this particular category and of course found a darling little painting of a crow that I just had to bid on. It closes in about half an hour. The idea is that these cards don't cost all that much but we make prints of them and manufacture them relatively quickly and cheaply, and hope for volume sales. Original artwork would go for more.

This speaks to something fundamental in me. I love miniatures! I love working with little tiny pieces of things!! I wish my life were that small; all my problems would seem so wee. I want to live in an eight-bedroom dollhouse with a functional kitchen and plumbing. And a front wall, which many models do not have.

A small lull -- merely raining, not pouring. Just the drone of the fridge now, and the clock.

Twice last week I visited a store here called Quilter's Dream, which contains fabric, thread, and quilting patterns. That's it. I just went in to gaze at all the colors and prints. They have fat quarters rolled up and tied so you can see the edge of each one and how they go together; they have single quarters in baskets; batiks, flannels, cottons of course, metallics, asian prints, and quilts galore on the walls. I just went in to look. It did me good.

I also got feverish over some paper-making supplies I saw in the craft store, but I did not buy them. I was too busy buying stamp pads.

And I would love to get back to the card-making this moment but I have to finish transferring our PowerPoint presentation into Keynote, and that will take a while. Best get to it.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!