Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 30, 2008

11:35 p.m.

From the Left Coast

On this the second half of our tour, we're covering the west coast of Florida. Cape Coral tonight, a house concert with some lovely folks. I remember one audience member from previous concerts here; he flirts with me constantly. And he pulled the same silly caper on me as last time: I'll come outside, or into the hallway, and he'll say, "Oh, Bornearly, look out now! You're walking all over the ground!" And everyone laughs even though it's his ONE trick and he does it to everyone. I shook my finger at him and told him he'd already said that two years ago. Last time he wanted to know if I was married. This time he wanted to know if I'd lost weight... and, later, talking to Carol and me: "So, are both of you married?" And we replied, "Yes, to Chris!"

They've moved to a bigger house now, so instead of sleeping in a converted garage (honestly, it was a one-car garage that they'd almost completely turned into a real room... except for the garage door, demurely hidden behind a curtain) I am in an actual bedroom. This is an improvement. My new suitcase is working out nicely, although Chris pointed out that it's actually a little bigger than the one I used to borrow from Wes. It really is a whompin' suitcase. In honor of this I have cheerily named it "Mofo." I could get into it myself if I wanted to.

I have been running/walking consistently and have no knee pain whatsoever. I am being careful. However, I am also eating a lot of cookies, which is not careful, but delicious.

In the "Misheard Lyrics" category, we heard Carol in her room tonight, singing, with great feeling, "Secret -- Asian Man! Secret -- Asian Man!" until Chris informed her that it was agent, not Asian.

And I learned tonight that 111,111,111 times 111,111,111 equals

12,345,678,987,654,321

thus reminding us that numbers are magical and amazing and that life is full of mystery and we should remember this at all times.

And with that I will close, and get some sleep. Day off tomorrow, just a little traveling.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!