Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 22, 2008

10:09 p.m.

The Eve of Leaving

Ducky called up Dar the other day and said, "I'm treating you to a free concert!" A local university has these, I guess they're public recitals, put on by the students and they're apparently very good. Ducky is a classical music buff. Dar took her to dinner, of course, at our favorite Thai place with the incredible appetizer... miang kum, which looks like this:

Toasted coconut, peanuts, onion, dried tiny shrimp, ginger, lime chunks... and a sweet-ish sauce, all on a spinach leaf. This stuff is heaven. So they called me from the restaurant to taunt me with their miang kum enjoyment. By then Ducky was drunk on one glass of wine and could not walk down the sidewalk and talk on the phone at the same time, so she turned it over to Dar. He did his bad imitation of a drunk person, we all laughed, and they went on to the concert.

Meanwhile I was possessed by aliens for a while today and did most of my taxes, took apart the Christmas tree, put away the Dresden china angels, folded laundry, vacuumed, mailed 29 DVDs, returned the print server at UPS, grocery shopped, worked out on the Total Gym and put THAT away... then my body was returned to me in time to make dinner and watch an episode of Northern Exposure. Now it's getting late and I have that unsatisfied feeling that I so often get at night, like something didn't happen that should have. Or like I'm scared of tomorrow. Either way it makes me reluctant to go to bed.

********

Rose said Marc's woodstove did, indeed, sell last night. The guy was thrilled to get it, and Marc was quite happy that it did not sit in the garage for more than 24 hours.

Rose also told me she had a close encounter (speaking of aliens) with a Pug recently. Someplace they were visiting -- she had an opportunity to cuddle with one for a while. I never thought much about pugs, but she loved this one. They always seem sweet tempered. And then there are those faces. I spoke with Dar later about it.

D: Pugs look like people that you know.

BE: Yeah. Only nicer.

********

I have no errands tomorrow, just packing. I can do it in small increments, so I don't forget anything.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!