Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 20, 2008

2:31 p.m.

Serenity

A couple of days ago the local boom box contingent was out in force -- somewhere up the street -- for so long that I finally called Dar just to vent. The conversation went something like this:

BE: �Just tell me one thing. �Just give me hope that one day...

D: �You'll find a small nuclear device?

BE: �No. �Just promise me that one day...

D: �...They'll all die?

BE: �No! �Just give me hope that one day you might buy us a little house where we can live in Goddamn peace and quiet!

D: �Oh, for Heaven's sake -- there's no "might" about it; it's absolutely going to happen. �The money will be there; you just have to decide where it's going to be!

BE: �All I need is one room with a big table for my projects.

D: �No. �You need forty rooms for your projects, depending on what you are that week. �"Dar, this week you can find me in the Arts & Crafts room." "Dar, I'll be in the Ashram this week, and by the way I'm shaving my head." "This week I'll be running around like a mouse in the east wing. If you need me, look for the trail of cedar chips."

Hm. Who else in the whole world would know me so well, and let me be all that without question? With encouragement, even?

And in that moment I looked into the camera a la Oliver Hardy and thought, if I don't retire with this man I'm absolutely nuts.

Rose decided long ago that he had the brother in law job, whether we ever married or not. �Perhaps, after all, further auditions are superfluous.

Anyway, we had a good laugh, and I felt better, and then I went to my gig.

One thing I thought about Dar later was that, though he's not the most assertively confrontational of persons, he is remarkably good at forming and following through with a long term plan. I've seen that with his work goals, these last few years.

Oh, by the way, he had an audition for a little part in a Martin Scorsese film last week. Who knows if he's got any shot at it, but it was cool that his agent sent him to read.

********

We played a community center last night in Litchfield, to a very nice crowd -- some known fans and some new folks. My first bass song was a train wreck for some reason; I think I was nervous and preoccupied that some friends of Rose's were there. After that things improved. I spent this morning crafting a display to sell solo CDs in sets instead of singly. Carol and I have so many left, and they don't sell much of course, because now we have all these band CDs. I'm thinking, volume. Reduced price, get 'em out of the basement. So I tore strips of beautiful handmade paper and made parchment labels and wrapped them in fours. Made a lovely sign with hand-stamped lettering and some beadwork and glittery gel pens. ("I'm in the arts & crafts room this week.") Now it's time for errands... and I have the rest of the days off until our departure for Florida on Thursday. They'll be filled with study for class, drawing, cooking, knitting, and the second DVD of the last season of Northern Exposure. This afternoon: buffalo chili.

Oh, I had a revelation about my clothes recently. I decided to wear my various favorite clothes at all times, rather than always saving them up for a special occasion. I'd hate to die and have my favorite clothes still be in good shape.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!