Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 09, 2008

11:54 p.m.

The World Needs Pumpkin Oat Bars

Because I want to nourish the world, I'm posting the recipe for the Pumpkin Oat Bars I made for Dar tonight, which recipe was invented by ME, Bornearly, on the spot. They came out better than I ever imagined! They're not too sweet and have a lot less fat than most cookies, PLUS there is vegetable matter in them. In spite of these healthy attributes they are scrumptious, moist and chewy. Ready? Get a 9" x 13" pan and a couple of mixing bowls.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Dry Ingredients:

1-3/4 c. rolled oats
1-1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1/4 c. wheat germ (I used defatted)
1/8 c. ground flax seed
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/8 tsp. cloves
1/2 tsp. salt

Wet Ingredients:

3/8 c. honey
1/2 c. canola oil
1 can (15 oz.) pumpkin puree
1/2 tsp. vanilla

Chunky Stuff:

A bunch of candied ginger, cut up small... I used two good handfuls
1/2 c. sunflower seeds
3/8 c. raisins

Mix up the dry ingredients along with the sunflower seeds; whisk the wet ingredients along with the candied ginger and raisins. Combine everything and press into oiled or sprayed pan. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes; watch it because things made with honey can brown quickly. I took mine out at 27 minutes and it was perfect. Allow to cool before cutting.

In future batches I want to try grating a zucchini into the mix. I might also try different kinds of dried fruits.

So I'm sending most of them to Dar by Priority Mail tomorrow, taking three small squares with me to a 2-day rehearsal, and giving the last 4 to Sunny and Ben, because Ben came up tonight in spite of a dreadful cold and fixed my toilet which had ceased to flush properly after a long battle. (It had gotten to the point where I was the only person in the world who could get the toilet to flush. Rather awkward when there are guests.) I now have a brand new, flexible flapper valve. Life is good. Tomorrow they will find goodies in their mailbox.

********

Much anxiety today over trying to get the print server to work; Chris and I did iChat and screen sharing so he could fiddle with it, but to no avail. This was after a couple of hours working on my proposal and materials for the artist retreat I'm hoping to get this summer, plus an intensive hour or so working on the drawing. After all that I was bushed and had to walk away from it. Most unsatisfying; but I went to the gym and made friends with another treadmill, and came home and ate a huge dinner and opted out of going to the movies with Wes. Then made the soon-to-be-famous Pumpkin Oat Bars, talked with Dar, did some dishes and now I'm ready for bed. I don't have to be at rehearsal until 1:00 tomorrow, thankfully.

Rose called and asked if I could clean their house again, as her shoulder is still so painful. I said I'd go Monday since I have gigs all weekend. It's slowly getting colder. This brief Indian Summer was gorgeous.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!