Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 13, 2007

3:56 p.m.

Snow Day

My hair salon (well, I don't own it really) called this morning to see if I was willing to reschedule today's appointment, owing to the oncoming storm. I was happy to so do, and the band postponed our "rehearsal overnight" until Fri/Sat so that I wouldn't have to drive at all in the stuff. Then it started to come down, and it's snowed pretty much all day.

As I write, I hear the faint sound of a car's wheels spinning outside. Must be slick.

The window screens and storms are steamy. Through gaps in the condensation I see the steady snowfall; all my fairy lights are reflected in the glass. I put the string of Bodhi lights I got in Northampton over the living room window, finally. They're blossoms made of the dried leaves of the Bodhi tree, with a light in the center of each. I do a little work, wrap a few presents, check email. Later I'll scan some more family photos, and perhaps finish that project for my niece.

Tonight or tomorrow there will be a lot of shoveling around my car. I suppose I ought to do some very soon, to make the load lighter when it's done snowing. There's a little light left. I'll go down.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!