Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 29, 2007

5:32 p.m.

Christmas just got more interesting.

I was in Northampton the other day, innocently shopping for those last few gifties, when I came upon the coolest thing I thought my little grand-niece would love.

My grandniece. The one I haven't met, who is the daughter of my niece Bethany, whom I met for the first time this summer.

I wasn't planning to get the kids anything; Rose and I are getting together next week to make a "family history" tape to send to Bethany, along with some copies of family photos. But I thought I'd let the kids go this time, since I don't know them at all or what they'd like or what sizes they are...

But then I found this journal.

It's called, "Wreck this Journal," and every page has an instruction on something creative (and possibly messy) to do with the page, or the whole book. A few examples:

"This page is for HANDPRINTS or fingerprints. Get hands dirty, then press down."

"Poke holes in this page using a pencil."

"Draw fat lines and thin. Pushing really hard with the pencil."

"Bring this book in the shower with you."

"Tie a string to the journal. Go for a walk, drag it."

"Sew this page."

"DRIP SOMETHING HERE. (Ink, paint, tea) Close the book to make a print."

DRAW LINES using ABNORMAL writing utensils dipped in ink or paint. (Sticks, spoons, twist ties, comb, etc.)

"This page is a sign. What do you want it to say?"

"Find a way to wear the journal."

She might need some supervision (she's almost 7), but Bethany has said she's creative and artsy. And, mainly, I used the mostly infallible guide that has always helped me get wonderful presents for others, which is: I like it.

So of course I'm gonna have to come up with something for the almost-14-year-old boy. His mom says that, aside from football, he loves to cook and might want to be a chef. That could be a useful clue. As for the baby... whaddaya get for a baby?

I've never shopped for kids. And I've never been related to any. This new family thing is pretty cool.

Anyway I told Rose about it and she was all hyped over it, too. I'll show her next week before I wrap it.

And I pulled a real coup for Dar. A couple of years ago I bought him a birthday card of a white mouse on a tiny scooter. I framed it for him. He loved that card so much that he kept it in the trunk of his car (which he opens a lot). Recently he said it seemed that someone had broken in and stolen JUST the framed photo. There's enough stuff in his trunk that any right-minded thief would certainly rummage around before taking off, but no, he insisted this was the only thing taken. And no sign of a breakin. I asked whether it could possibly just be buried in the trunk, as it's chock full of cleaning supplies, and he moaned reluctantly that it was possible. But he hasn't come across it in months. SO.

I went back the the shop in N'hampton where I got it.

They didn't have it any more.

They had cards in the same style, so I made note of the company and looked them up online. Palm Press, by the way, palmpressinc if you want to google, and they have really excellent photography, very clever. I FOUND the card on the website: Here it is, the fourth one down on the right! The only drawback is I have to get a box of 12 and they ain't exactly cheap. The upside is, Dar can lose it 11 more times and I'll still be able to replace it. In fact, I think I'll send him the same card every year for the next 12 years. I want to get my money's worth out of this gift.

Anyway, he'll be thrilled.

********

Rose is recovering nicely from shoulder surgery. Bone spurs. Unable to do much, she is going stir crazy in the house. Today, however, she embarked on the first season of Heroes which I loaned her, and has been GLUED to the television ever since. It's so gratifying to find that someone close to you is as delightedly obsessed as you are over a show.

I went to the gym again finally, and ran 30 minutes. I basically got away with it. I guess my knee is just going to be an issue. Did some machines and came home to rearrange the furniture in the living room. It's much better now -- not completely finished but lovely.

Tomorrow we rehearse all day and work on the England movie, but before that I have an appointment to get birth control pills. I've been off for most of this year because I could no longer get them for free through my sister's office. As a result, my periods come every two to three weeks -- a drag, I needn't say. I found out this week when I went for my mammogram that this same program offers free b.c. pills. I'd have to buy just one pack a year to support the program. This is good news. I like having very light periods but not with this frequency. And maybe some day I'll become interested in somebody again and actually want to have a sexual relationship. I think that's what they call it. A sexual relationship. Can't really remember.

And I had a laugh with Rose about all my forgetfulness. She simply said, "Welcome to middle age. It happens to EVERYBODY." Then I didn't feel so bad.

Time to rehang some Christmas lights and sit in my new living room.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!