Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 21, 2007

9:28 a.m.

Dreamz

I had two significant dreams just before awaking at 8:00, but made the mistake of getting up to look out the window to see if I could find the source of that boom box bass I have been hearing every damn morning at this time... and the dreams left me. I felt a little bereft, so they must�ve been good. I�m also a little bit tired. Stayed up late watching Spiderman.

I had a nice chat with Steve yesterday. He called on his way home from Manhattan to discuss an ongoing moth infestation in his kitchen. The new job is working out very well, although, having run his own company and/or worked freelance for an agency for the last 25 years, getting up early to take the bus into the city and work 9 to 5 every day is still very alien to him. But he�s much appreciated there, it sounds like, and enjoys the work. The money, as a consultant, is huge. They�ll keep him on in this way through December, and then they might offer him a full time position. It�s a great relief to him after sending out resumes for a few months and getting no results, although he can�t tell whether he �likes� the change in routine.

This year he and his ex-wife will not be doing the family Thanksgiving thing after all. They had shared the holidays even post-divorce so the kids would have a focal point; but this year, one is in England at college, and one is in Oregon, so Steve is cooking at his house for some 15 other relatives and friends. His new girlfriend will come.

These days I am at once relieved not to have girlfriend obligations in New Jersey, and nostalgic about my time with Steve. What an odd place to be. The Incurable Romantic in me is having a prolonged, contentious dialogue with my inner Loner. Maybe it�s all the movie romance I�ve been watching. I want to feel that spark again, that physical igniting, that inexplicable magnetism that makes one want to stand right next to someone. Life seems boring without it. Last night Wes said, �Any time you come to your senses and decide that you want to be with a great guy who adores you... just give me a call.� Then, of course, we had to add the ba-dum-BUM response, �Why? Do you know somebody?� But I don�t want to be with Wes. I can�t manufacture wanting to be with him just because he�d like it. I told him I think the boring parts between life being exciting get me down. He said, �Well, you know, even in super hero stories you only get the good parts. Nobody tells you about the days where Superman had a sore throat and stayed home.�

********

I did go and haul wood with R&M the other day. I�ve never seen anyone handle a maul like Marc. He spent a long time cutting a few sections out of a really large, fallen trunk so that we could roll one out to let the others loose. It was tricky; when he�d get the chainsaw all the way through the trunk, the two sides would wedge together with their own weight and we couldn�t budge them. Finally, working all three together, we pushed the key piece out of the puzzle. He then proceeded to divvy up those trunk pieces like pies, with incredible accuracy and speed. For a middle aged, balding, geeky guy with a slightly expanding waistline, he�s a pretty buff woodchopper.

Rose and I carried many armfuls of wood to the pickup truck across the yard and stacked them in the bed. Rose was very careful with her shoulder, on which she�s having surgery just after Thanksgiving. Two sections of that trunk provided wood for maybe ten days and nights. By then it was getting a little dark and Marc, in particular, was worn out. We went back to the house, cooked an incredible dinner, and watched Tap, one of Rose�s favorite movies.

I had a cat on my lap for much of the time -- Arthur, who is the most skittish of animals, unless there is a lap available, at which time he becomes the lap owner�s best friend. He�s mostly fretful and agitated, even when being petted. I petted him until he went boneless and upside down on my lap, eyes closed, paws limp.

********

Chris and I figured out video iChat last night, after a few aborted attempts. His computer doesn�t have a built-in camera so he went out and bought one that didn�t work for the purpose. However, he was able to hook up his regular digital movie camera and use that for the trial until he can get a proper one. The display kept going to sleep so we had to reconnect a few times, but it was great fun to see each other on our screens and apply the face-distorting filters as we talked.

********

The ground is wet and dark today, and the thick scattering of fallen leaves make the little parking area in back look like a pond full of lily pads. I think I�ll hunker down like a frog in a bog today. I made a great turkey chili yesterday, and cornbread. Maybe I�ll finally get to that front closet.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!