Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 16, 2007

9:53 p.m.

Glasses

Did I ever mention I love wine glasses? I had a set of four German ones that my old boss gave me years ago, after one of his annual business trips. Actually I think his wife picked them out for me. They meant a lot especially because I lived in Germany as a child and I remembered those traditional style glasses.

Over the years, three have broken, in spite of the care I've tried to take of them. I recently found some replacements online and they should come next month. I'm happy I'll have four again, though I rarely need more than two at once. Just knowing they're there, selfishly hidden away from all but the most trustworthy guests, makes me feel empowered. In fact I have three styles of wine glasses. One is basic wine-glass shape, and one is a champagne flute. I use the flute when I want just a smidge of wine. The regular looking one is for any old day when you want a glass with dinner. The German one, though -- more bowl-shaped, with the grapevines etched around the side and the ridged green stems -- that's for some serious contemplation, a great movie, a sensual frame of mind. For digging back into childhood and finding the source, for interpreting dreams. That's why I have to have a set. They have to last me a lifetime of thinking.

On the other subject of glasses, here is a pic of one of my new pairs (the ones that startled Chris). Bear in mind, my old glasses pretty much disappeared against my face. I wanted to go another way this time.

My very first pair of glasses, obtained when I was ten and no longer could see the blackboard, were black-framed, cat-eye ones. Oooh, how I loved those cat-eye glasses. I'm sorry I don't have a picture handy of those to show you. They were simply horrid. These, however, aren't quite black, but dark tortoiseshell with a sort of creamy gray on the inside. The other pair I got are half-rimmed with wire that is quite a bit less noticeable, yet chic and mod and hip and acceptable in today's society. No one will know that I'm an alien from a distant star system.

The ones pictured don't have those separate nose pieces that come on wire rimmed glasses. If I wiggle my ears just right, I can make these rise up off my nose.

I and my acrobatic glasses went running today at the gym. I'd laid off for several weeks, so it was time to test the knee again. I did pretty well; ran for 25 minutes and stopped when the knee whispered that it had had enough. I walked a few laps and then went to the machines for a bit. It was SO GOOD to run again. I had two emotional uprisings, one at about 10.5 minutes and one a couple of minutes later. Just gratitude and endorphins. I'll try going again Sunday; tomorrow I guess I'll know if I did all right.

I also worked almost 6 hours on some sheet music someone ordered a couple of weeks ago. Since I had to get up early for the heating guys anyway (nevermind that they didn't show up until midafternoon), I thought I'd get right to work before I had a chance to procrastinate again. It was fun, albeit obligatory, to get into the staffs again and write little notes and figure out how parts get together on the page. I do a lot of erasing. But at last it was done, and I copied it on my scanner and mailed it off to Illinois.

We have a gig tomorrow, for which I haven't practiced. I will tomorrow. I might alter a dress, too. Wes got me this long black velvet dress at a used clothing shop for $6, thinking I might use it as a Hallowe'en costume (Deja vu; possibly have talked about this here). It'll make a fab gig dress with a couple of alterations which shouldn't take all day. I also went to Kohl's today and struck it big: found a pair of black pants which are almost exactly like an old pair that I've been gigging in for years, and which is now in the sewing pile. The waistband has just stretched out a little too much. They're a little frayed too, and there's a shiny spot on one leg from ironing them with someone else's iron which apparently had starch on it. I was going to try to bring the waist in again, but now that I found these others I may just retire the old ones. I love my old clothes. I thank them out loud for their service when I have to toss them, and sometimes I kiss them. I did this with my old glasses yesterday. I have this feeling that objects want to be useful. It's important to honor the things that serve us. It makes everything needed and purposeful. There is no waste of energy or intention. Either I'm being really highly evolved here, or just OCD. Either way it makes me mindful of the stuff I use, and grateful that I have the tools to do what I do.

I and my glasses also joined Netflix today, for the two-week trial membership. I am very excited about this. Even the $5 per month membership (only two movies, one at a time) is such a deal. So cheap, and so easy. That's how I want my life to be, as we know. Inexpensive, luxurious, leisurely and trouble-free. And I never seem to get to the movies, even though there's a good theatre less than ten minutes from here. Let the movies come to me. Bring on the jongleurs; make sport!

And speaking of Dar (who always says that), he's just begun rehearsal for this year's version of A Christmas Carol. He's played Scrooge for countless years now, but this is at a new theatre he's never worked at before. I gather it's semi-pro, with a certain number of Equity contracts allowed. The money's good, it runs for only three weeks and he'll be done before Christmas, which means he can come spend the day with us. Dar hasn't been down here for Christmas in several years. It'll be a bit like old times, before I dated anyone. I don't know if that's odd or just good, comforting.

Speaking then of dating... I talked with James a little tonight. He has bronchitis, has been wearing himself out at a new job (for $800 a day. Worth losing a little rest). I've been realizing how little I talk to him these days. I miss him; not missing dating him, just having him be more present in my life. He made me laugh tonight. Was good.

And my heat is up and running! The moment it gets cold I can turn the thermostat up. This house is living in the 21st Century now. (It was built in 1901.) Next week they'll take Bessie out, but meanwhile, I am gonna sleep in tomorrow. My body won't want to, but I'll make it. More sleep, that's what I want.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!