Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 14, 2007

9:26 p.m.

Broadcast

We were on the redeye radio shift this morning in West Hartford, meaning I got up just after 5:00am to get out of here on time. This was to promote our gig this Saturday. The show was fun, and afterwards, Chris and I went to Mo's diner for breakfast, and Carol headed up to Northampton for a workshop. Chris and I talked a lot about Macs, of course, since I'm still in the flush of my new one, he's an old hand, and it looks like they'll be getting Carol one soon, too. Tomorrow at the Mac store there is a free workshop on iMovie and iDVD, which we could use to put movies on our website and some other things. Chris and I are planning to go. If I'm able to use this software it means Chris isn't stuck with the task every time we want to do something with it. I like this; it means I get to have more FUN. Don't ask me to make a phone call for the band, but gimme a creative project and I'll do it.

I got so little sleep last night that I felt almost sick when I got up today, so I didn't want to do much out in the world. After breakfast I did stop to pick up my new GLASSES. You may remember that I lost my prescription sunglasses in England, and my regular ones were feeling too strong, bothering my eyes, and had gotten quite scratched, not to mention the green stuff inside the ear pieces. I spent 3 hours in Lenscrafters yesterday getting lights shone into my dilated pupils, reading lines of letters and trying on almost every pair of frames in the store. I got an everyday pair, a Special Events Pair, and new sunglasses. All lenses half off! It turns out that my vision has changed; my distance vision is slightly better than four years ago, and my close-up vision is a bit worse. They said this was common. No wonder my glasses felt too strong; they were. One pair wasn't ready yet, but by the time I got home later, there was a message that they were.

Meanwhile I stopped in a couple of places to cruise for Christmas gifts, and found a thing or two. By the time I was going home this afternoon, I was nearly asleep at the wheel. Got in around 2:30 and went straight to bed, where I napped for about an hour and a half, having a spectacularly successful wet dream and something else about a red motorcycle, before waking up just in time for the heating guy to knock on the door to test the thermostat.

I know that entire paragraph sounds completely sexual, but really, it was just the one dream. The rest, the motorcycle and everything, just routine. And the heating guy -- we're just friends. I hardly know him.

Anyway the baseboards still weren't working so after some troubleshooting he said they would have to come back and purge the boiler again. (Now stop it! It's just a boiler.) When I asked when that might be, he said, either tomorrow or Friday, or if not, then on Monday. Nothing like narrowing it down. I gather they're still working in the basement. Anyway, at that point they'll also take the big heaters out. Then it will be DONE and I can sleep in.

I saw the last installment of the first year of Heroes tonight. At last I can move on to some other evening pursuit! It's a great, fun series.

It looks like I'll be spending T'giving in my usual way, at the house of acquaintances -- the veterinarians who have for years taken care of Rose's animals. It turns out that my ex-brother-in-law will be there this time. I haven't seen him since before the divorce. I'm taking it as a sign that it's time for me to reconnect. We had no falling out other than my not believing all the crap he purported about Rose during their split; my hope is that enough time has gone by that we have other things to talk about besides what Rose did or didn't do. (Which leads me to the interesting thought that I don't know if he even knows she's remarried.) Whatever I've heard of him in the last year has been at Rose's table, and of course there's an element of disparagement, or at least of head-shaking, whenever his name comes up. I'm seeking a middle ground where I don't have to make him a scapegoat... regardless of how insane I thought he was a year ago... sometimes, when it's your sister, you have to take sides. Now, though, I'm looking for a healing situation.

AND a better night's sleep. I still haven't run. My body's going all soft; it'll be very hard next time I get out there. I'm shooting for Friday. Meanwhile, my book and my bed.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!