Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 29, 2007

7:12 p.m.

Birds

I think about birds sometimes
and where all the nests are.
My friend says most of the birds live in tree holes
drilled by woodpeckers
or carved by bugs
or left gaping after a dead branch falls.
But surely so many hundreds of birds can't all live
in holes?
My guess is, those nests we see in our yards
or at forest edges
are just a ruse, Spring rentals for those
who drew the short straws this year,
to make us think they live among us.
I believe there is some secret, other place the rest gather,
hidden from human eyes, and predators, of course
where they can tuck themselves safely in at night
and emerge, ready for the big jest,
each dawn.

I wonder also about mice.
There must be so many mice
but we never see them,
unless our basements have holes
or if we have a cat.
Whence, for example,
came the little gray mouse I saw in the parking lot
at CVS one winter night, just at the kerb,
as I emerged from my car, bent on acquiring
some much-needed personal care product?
How far had he come, to hug
the rough cement step in the shadows,
invisible to all but me?

I stood perfectly still then
and delicately pulled out my phone
to call a fellow mouse-lover.
While I was leaving a message
the sleek little fellow emerged from his nook
and trundled right up between my shoes.
All under my disbelieving eyes he leaned right against my heel
and commenced cleaning his face.
One hardly thinks of a mouse as casual
but, clearly, here was one
at ease in his backyard
and assured of his place in some nearby burrow
safe from enemies and cold
and, probably, filled with a tidy stash
of nuts and seeds and granola
dropped by careless, overfed teens
on their way to some popular hang.

I wonder, too, then, about moments of clarity.
Where do they go, once I've glimpsed them
perched briefly on a branch
in the tangled woods of my mind?
Where does the straight bit of path go
that, in a moment, is overrun with brambles?
Has it holed up somewhere
or is it just there, in the shadow of a kerb,
perhaps near my car?
Or are those moments of insight
just red herrings for the real seat of truth and understanding
that dwells farther in
where I can almost hear the sweet, terrible cacophony
of many foreign voices, piping?


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!