Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 27, 2007

7:18 p.m.

The Lame Report

Okay, my friend Wes and I went to hear Peter Tork play at UConn today. It rained, we had to walk a long way from where we parked, we were a little late. The show was inside because of weather; it was festive. There were people on huge stilts walking and dancing around. There were people dressed as large vegetables (and a cow) representing the organic growers of Connecticut. Peter has a rockin' band. It was fun; some people danced. I had to admit he's still cute, in that rascally little-boy way. During the very last song ("Cheer Up, Sleepy Jean," which, Wes confessed, he always thought was "Cheer Up, Sleepy Jeez") the fire alarm went off and they had to stop playing and everybody had to go outside, even the cow.

We were standing out on the sidewalk and we were two feet from Peter and his band. When I realized this I got so tongue-tied that I couldn't go up and talk to him. I had a CD to give him and everything, but I just couldn't do it. Could not do it. Not. Do it. So we left and went to the gym.

I can't believe I was such a LOSER.

I'm a terrible fan. I should be a good fan, because I know what a good fan does. I like it when people come up to me. It's friendly; it's community-building. It's ego-boosting. I even got recognized in the GYM, for God's sake. Like the Universe was saying, "It's okay, you're still someone... even though you're such a LOSER." So why can't I just be nice? Why does it have to be such a big deal?

Everybody make an "L" with their thumb and forefinger... okay, now put it up to your forehead. You have just described ME, Bornearly, who can no longer talk to a guy.

I cancelled everything for the weekend. I'm staying in bed.

Love,
Bornearly

P.S. Meanwhile a very creepy guy, about whom I have not yet written, but trust me he's very creeeeepy, asked me to dinner this weekend even though last Fall I told him I was seeing someone and as far as he knows I still am. I even feel bad saying he's creepy, because I think he's just a lonely and shy person, but it's just another example of how things are really askew at the moment. I wonder if I could get a job as a cow, or a large carrot. They seemed to be having fun. I'll bet their relationships are very straightforward. Perhaps I'll look into it.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!