Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 10, 2007

4:40 p.m.

Singin' with Tony

I got up earlyish this morn to get to the gym before my hair appointment... turned on my auxiliary laptop to write down a dream I had... and it crashed.

Quietly, politely. Just a demure little error message saying a file was corrupt or missing. I spent the time I would have spent showering and getting ready to go, attempting to fix the file or reboot via the XP disk that came with my other computer. I don't have a boot disk for this one; it's an older machine that I had my ex brother-in-law wipe out and install a bootleg XP on from his work. There wasn't anything on it I hadn't backed up, so I didn't lose any work. That was probably why I didn't get upset. Anyway my attempts did not work; it won't boot up for love or money (wait, I didn't offer it any money), and I think it'll need to have its little memory swept clean of all past events and rebirthed with a new brain. Marc might be able to do that for me. If not, it's time for a new laptop. I don't have money for a new laptop, but it would be nice to have wireless capability at last... and something small enough to travel with... anyway I still have the sailboat in my office. It just means I got used to writing poetry in my kitchen of a morning, and suddenly I'm amidst all my office clutter instead.

I could clean up the office.

Got my hair highlighted today, after having a dream of short hair. It's so funny -- all the years I had spiky hair I kept dreaming of having LONG hair. This is the first reversion-to-short-hair dream I've had. Make up your mind, for Chrissakes. I feel icky about my appearance right now for various reasons. Anyway I have the next three days off and, aside from being somewhat productive around the apartment (how about that other closet, hmmmmm?) (did I mention I straightened the living room one already?) and getting to the gym, I don't wanta do nothin'. I was going to go work out on the way back from the hairdresser's (sinced I missed my window this morning), and by the time I got to the community center, I was so sleepy I had to close my eyes for a few minutes in the parking lot. I fell completely asleep, woke up suddenly with a start, and said, "I've got to get out of here!" I was just too flat to go lift weights. That's the first time I've bugged out of working out, and I was RIGHT THERE. I came home via the grocery store and made vegetable soup instead. I'm sleepy. It's too late to take a nap. I have the Tuesday blues and I'll just have to see them through.

I did get a return call from Wes last night, and was glad to talk with him. You'd think you'd get together with a friend who lives six blocks away, but I haven't seen him in ages. He's a dear, anyway. We might go to a concert later this month.

We just got a booking in the UK for next year for a lot of money! We love our agent.

There's a writing workshop in California in September that I would really like to go to. It's put on by The Sun magazine. Not sure how I'd afford it, however. Maybe there is something in New England that would be equally useful to me, equally inspiring.

At the moment, however, I'm too sleepy to look into it. I'm just being nice to myself... laying low... doggo. Listening to Tony Bennett singing with Bonnie Raitt. I s'pose that's enough for right now.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!