Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 03, 2007

10:06 p.m.

Just Desserts, Please

It's that word. Cakey. Not the adjective. Anything can be cakey. Brownies can be cakey; muffins can be cakey. It's a very nice adjective, I'll give it that; very pleasing, friendly. It's when it's used as a noun that it becomes insidious. Cakey as a noun brings up sparkly little fantasies of petit fours, icinged to perfection and hardly unhealthy at all, they're so small. It's what caused me to buy donut holes at the grocery store today, glazed ones (the cakey kind, not the yeast-raised), peeking out of the cellophane window of their box, tittering, "We're Cakeys! Eat us!" and so forth. The problem is, Entenmann's donut holes fall far short of the fantasy, the petit four, the little glazed fruit tart, the mini cheesecake, the dwarf blanc mange with the raspberry drizzle and the triangular chocolate cookie stuck in the top. I want the platter. The variety. I want all the gusto and none of the headache. That's my motto in life, in fact. I want the win without the taxes. And I'm expecting it any day now; I really am.

I should just know better about the donut holes, though; they're just not exactly what I want, by the time I get them home. Well, by the time I get them to my car.

It's okay, though. I slept last night without a headache for the first time since I got sick last week, and virtually no headache today. This is true progress. I celebrated by completing some sewing projects and later going to BJs to activate my free, 60-day membership card.

For those not in the know, BJs is a wholesale club. You have to get largeish amounts of everything in order to save money. But shopping in bulk for one person is an oxymoron. It's also impractical when one has limited pantry space. But I had fun wheeling my giant cart through the warehouse-like space, looking at gargantuan boxes of Ritz crackers and sides of beef and 48-packs of Zest soap. After a complete casing of the joint, I finally picked up a two-pack of Vidalia Onion salad dressing (Rose's suggestion), a four-box pack of multigrain pasta, and a box of Life cereal about as big as my torso. I figure, until I need them, I can drape a shawl over the boxed items and use them as a coffee table. The dressing bottles might make good living room lamps, with the right shades affixed.

********

Anyway, it's getting late and I have to run a couple of Norton things on my computer, so I'll finish this up. I had ideas about other things to write about, but I got a couple of phone calls, and there went the evening. Another day off tomorrow; maybe I can get into that closet and complete another task. Mmm, completed tasks. Cakey.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!