Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 21, 2007

11:57 p.m.

Back

I have been like the sailor, the wild goose, the whisper on the wind. I've been home four days in the last five weeks. During this time Chris's mom died, I had continuing internet problems, we all got horrible bronchitis in Tennessee and brought it to Texas, we tried a Chinese apothecary remedy for Carol's coughing that gave her huge, painful blisters all over her feet (it involved garlic and saran wrap... best not to go into it), I was traumatized by a belligerent and cruel airport security person, and we put 3,000 miles on our cars and went up and down in planes six times. We also presented a gradeschool program in Minnesota on recycling, that we learned the week before in Texas (while Carol's feet were healing) and ran for the first time in the hotel the night before we had to do it in front of 600 kids.

It's been hectic, to say the least.

I've experienced painful gum recession and the skin around my pelvic bones broke out into a winter rash. I'm taking Prilosec a couple of times a week for indigestion and grinding my mouth guard for all it's worth.

Oh yeah, and I spotted the last 2 weeks of my last pill cycle. I think my body just doesn't want to be on the pill any more. And James and I have let go of the romantic aspect of our relationship, seeing the logic in it and realizing that I simply cannot hold up my end of the bargain, and that a rich friendship would still be a good thing.

I'm glad I didn't take my Palm for most of these trips because I might have been tempted to write my usual interminable entry about all the details. This way you've gotten the broad strokes in just a minute or so, and I can now go to bed!

But of course there is still so much more to tell, and eventually I'll tell at least some of it; but for now, I'm just glad and grateful to be home, loving my place more than ever, loving my bed; my plants didn't suffer too much (well, the jasmine doesn't look happy, and the begonia lost some more leaves... but now the place will be warmer) and we won't be flying out again any time soon. At long last and after many hours of troubleshooting and swearing, my old DSL service is back and running, my Norton products are updated (that was about five hours of yesterday), and things should be calmer now.

I'm spending tomorrow with Dar, with whom I have not had a proper playday in months.

Happy Spring, everyone.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!