Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 14, 2007

5:11 p.m.

The Magnificence of Being

I had this wonderful, incredibly scary dream last night about werewolves. James and I just had a great time interpreting it on the phone. I was literally paralyzed with fear and when I woke up, I realized that my eyes had already been open and I'd been physically conscious -- feeling myself in my bed, etc. -- in the last part of the dream, but totally disoriented because I didn't recognize where I was or have any context for my being. My mind took a while to catch up with my body. Anyway it was terrifying at the time, but upon reflection very intriguing.

Rose and her beau (whom I will call Marc, since I can't remember what I may have called him before) are having a wonderful new life together. They came over for dinner last night, along with Marc's neice, Meryl. We had an outstanding meal of tortellini spinach soup, roasted vegetables, and cornbread. Rose brought an evil dessert just the right size to cut in four pieces, and it too was a hit. I couldn't even count the calories, fat, points or anything else from that meal so I just called it a feast.

Chronicling everything I eat for a few weeks has become a temporary part time job. I'm finding that knowledge is power, and taking secret pleasure in how very fixated I have become upon the details of my food consumption.

I've had plenty of chances to go to the gym this week, too, and today it was very crowded. I wonder if it's everyone's new resolutions that will fade over the next couple of months, or if this is just the way it'll be now. One man was jogging on the track with his little son, and it was so cute. The kid was having the best time just being allowed to run around, and they'd play together, racing a little, walking, son running up and grabbing onto his dad's belt. Down below, on the basketball court, eighteen people were shooting baskets in the 6 hoops, including several parents with little kids. One guy had his maybe four year old daughter with him, and he'd hoist her up on his shoulders so she could try to make a basket. Although it was less serene this way, I got off on the energy in the place and had plenty of things to look at as I went round the oval for 35 minutes. Sometimes it made the minutes go by faster.

Time for dinner. Tomorrow I go to NH to have lunch with an old high school friend whom I haven't seen in 30 years. Can't wait! I dug up old cassette tapes of two musicals we were in in high school, which my parents taped from the audience. Unbelievable. I'll bring them and we can weep together for the beauty of life, the passing of time, the magnificence of being.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!