Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 28, 2006

11:40 p.m.

Long Time, No D

Thanks, Boann, for tracking me down. It's not that I don't think about Diaryland; I'm just so bloody busy! The course is going well, though it's a lot of hard work. We've gigged only sporadically but are leaving for the Midwest in a week and a half. I dread that drive. I think it's the third time this year. All the way down Interstate 80, which not only never ends but is always under construction! And the tolls are ghastly.

I was going to go to Vermont this afternoon to see a seasonal Mummers' Play as an assignment for the Celebrancy class, but the sky opened up and it poured oceans. It just wasn't a day to go anywhere. I did get to the grocery store so I could make a chicken stew in the slow cooker, and bread in the bread machine, and that was very satisfying. The wind is still blowing hard but the lights haven't flickered for a few hours now and I think tomorrow is supposed to be reasonably decent, though still gusty.

James is fine; James and I are fine, though I hardly see him. He's coming up next weekend. His daughter's drug addict boyfriend is still not in rehab. I still cannot sleep in the same bed with him. (James, not the drug addict boyfriend.) I do have a new bed, though, which is wonderful.

I was jogging quite regularly -- meaning that I wanted to jog every day but generally got to it twice a week -- 30 minutes at a time. Now it's gotten chilly and I can't get myself out to run when it's like this. I've been jumping on the trampoline which is great aerobically but not exactly as fun. If only I had a movie of scenery going by.

In spite of that I've reverted to my inner chocaholic and am doing my best to keep my weight up. I think it's class stress, money stress, relationship stress.

Speaking of which... my sister, Rose, is happily ensconced in her new condo, and loving her life. However, she is now in her second transitional, post-divorce relationship and shows no signs of slowing down to be single and unattached and do all that sort of solo work one does after one's marriage crashes and burns. I suppose I should alter my expectations; she's NEVER been willing to stay unattached, never in her whole life; why should I expect that she will now, just because I think it would be good for her? And what business is it of mine, anyway? What's my investment in seeing that she does things my way? I'm not sure about that one. It's not like I don't have a lover and I want her to not have one so that we can share our aloneness. And anyway, James tells me that she's acting absolutely normally for someone just out of a divorce, and he should know.

I puzzle me sometimes. And now, Rose puzzles me, too.

I have to remember to renew my Gold membership here this month, lest all this go poof. And right now it's time to go brush my teeth and waft into bed. One of these days I'll catch up with everyone; happy Samhain to those of you who acknowledge it as such.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!