Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 17, 2006

11:27 a.m.

Expo

Well, anticipation of Expo. I haven't gone yet. I don't know why I'm so nervous about it, unless it's just that I haven't done retail in many years and if it's crowded and I make mistakes and charge someone the wrong sales tax and can't find tissue to wrap breakables in and can't get my own stuff visible enough and get confused and...

That kind of thing.

Well, my brain's a little fried to begin with. The couple of hours I was going to spend at Rose's new place yesterday, waiting for the cable guy and the bed delivery while she was dealing with the movers at the old house, turned into ten hours. The movers were four hours late, and slow as molasses when they got to her. The bed delivery was on time and fast, but I forgot to give them the box of short bedframe legs that Rose now doesn't need, so she'll have to take or ship it back. The cable/phone/computer guy was late, though I didn't mind about that, but it took him two or three hours to set everything up because the box outside didn't have any available ports, and he had to call his boss to bring something for him to install. At first we thought the whole thing would have to be rescheduled, because the idea was that the movers would be there and the computer would be available for him to set up. And, he said, he has to have access to the computer, not just to put a cable in the wall. But they weren't anywhere near arriving. At literally the last half-minute, as the guy was going down the stairs, Rose called back and said, "I'm brain-dead or I would have remembered this! The computer is IN THE OFFICE already, in one of those boxes!" I'd had no idea. I whipped it out and set it up while Cableguy made his phone calls, and eventually... several hours later... I mean, the movers were done after 7:30pm. This was a morning job. They'd announced on arrival that they needed cash, not check, which nobody had mentioned before, so she had to find an open bank before they'd do anything. Then they moseyed everywhere. They promised a 5% discount adjustment for being so late, but in the end did not apply it (didn't realize that until later). She gave them a scant tip and the guy was pissed.

Whatever; it was 8:00 and we had pizza from Uno and good wine, and the kitchen table was assembled and Lucy the hound was on the couch and the cats were happy. The worst was over. Moving day... ech.

*********

This morning I woke up and decided the bedroom air conditioner should come out. It gets stuffy in there at night, and I wanted the fresh air before it started getting cold. That plan necessitated putting away the Reiki table and all its bedding from the living room, in order to have access to the little storage nook behind it where the a/c goes. The window doesn't stay up much by itself; the screen doesn't slide up and down without a lot of fussing; the storm window (the one with bullet holes in it) is broken on one latch side and must be wrestled with the help of a flathead screwdriver to raise or lower. But resourceful me, I did it and the air conditioner stayed inside the apartment as opposed to out on the roof or the lawn. All the little screws went back in their marked baggies so I'll know how to reassemble it next year, and the unit slid across the floors on a blankie so I didn't have to pick it up and carry it. Voila; light in bedroom window, suitable for plant; fresh air abounding.

James and I have been recording our dreams this week and reading them to each other and they're so bizarre! Some are telling. He had an amazing one that started with him putting together a kite from a kit called M.A.K.E., which stood for, "Make A Kite, Everyone!" I thought that was brilliant because it's so hard to dream of coherent words, letters or numbers.

Now I must give my cat palm a shower, as I had to spray her last week again for spider mites. She'll be glad to get back with the other plants. Then I'll shower myself and get on with the Big E. I'm kinda tired... I hope I can focus for 6 hours at the booth.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!