Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 10, 2006

6:29 p.m.

Not Enough Free Days

Where's that eight-day week the Beatles were always singing about?

I'm still tired, although my little cold is going away. I've been working like mad the last two days to create poetry books, and I have eight of each in my kitchen right now! Here's what they look like:

The binder I got on eBay came through, and I set it up today and it works just fine. I printed the copies at Rose's, after working out the covers myself and printing them at Staples on the color laser.

I'm just weary... snuffling and sleepy. I did manage my data entry and sending out the newsletter, and some knitting and a lot of reading since coming home. I also made a new batch of cookies for Dar and put them into the mail. Tomorrow I have to leave early to drive six hours to a gig near Rochester. Sunday will be spent driving home, and then we mix early Monday. Sigh.

At least it's warming up.

I've developed a most annoying penchant for spicy sushi. I was always a purist, salmon mostly, the occasional tempura shrimp, but now it's got to be the spicy mayonnaise. My waistline isn't thanking me, nor for all the chocolate I ate in Texas. I'm getting a lot of exercise rolling my eyes, though.

And I do NOT want to get up early and leave tomorrow for another gig.

But at least I'll have poetry books.

********

I didn't bring my palm to TX, where I keep a running diary entry. But we had a really good tour. I managed to bank a decent amount and we picked up a lot of new fans. It was our friend Jonnie's birthday Monday, and we hiked up Enchanted Rock, about 2 hours outside Austin. It's a huge... rock. Dome. Steep and scrambly in places. From the parking lot, the people on the dome look like ants. It was 86 degrees and sunny, and there aren't any trees on the dome... well, maybe one. We spent about 3 hours hiking and picnicking (there was shade on the far side), and Calvin said we did the short tour. Chris said afterwards, "If I wanted my body to feel this way, I could have just fallen down five times!" We had a great time, though, and after our lunch we read Dr. Seuss's Birthday Book aloud to Jonnie.

One of the best parts of the tour was the limerick collection Chris and I came up with. But I'm too tired to write them today; they'll be in the next entry. I have a couple of songs to work on and a little packing to do, but I think I'll just pour a glass of wine and watch 6FU. A preemie can only do so much.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!