Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


February 06, 2006

8:58 p.m.

Night In

What a great day. I totally refurbished my plant corner in the kitchen. Here's what it looks like:





The tall lady on the left is new, and cost $5. I couldn't not bring her home.

I also packed a box for Texas, gig clothes mostly, and handled a few other tasks. Made cookies to send to Dar. Ate a few and gave myself a headache... but, worth it, rather!

The iron plant stand in the window replaces some cheesy white plastic shelves I've had for years. I repotted the Aralia (not doing so well, on the right) in hopes that it's simply tired of the moldy old pot in which it came to me, and also repotted the Cat Palm which, of course, was totally rootbound in the store. The Pothos in the bathroom got a new stand and a big trim, and its cuttings are in the vase on the table.

And I finished reading "My Antonia" today, one of the most beautifully written books I've ever encountered. I wish I'd known Willa Cather. She amazes me; makes me feel I've never thought about a word I've written. I just found out that a friend of mine in Nebraska is second cousin to the person on whom the main character in that book is based. We didn't get the festival in his town this year, though, so I won't be going out to visit him. That's too bad. I definitely must read her other books.

These times at home are becoming ever more sweet, more important to me. They're shaping me as I shape the space around me. It's as though I'm preparing for something, but maybe it's just my future here. I feel so often like my mother, handling things alone, being resourceful, trying to be thrifty. She never saw this apartment. I think she'd have liked it a lot.

********

I just found out my Reiki teacher is having a share on a Saturday when I'm actually in town. It'll be my first one. This is where a number of practitioners get together and all do Reiki on each other. I'm really looking forward to it. I still do Reiki on myself every day, and occasionally on someone else, but I'm sure it all feels more integrated in a community of practitioners, and that's something I haven't been able to experience yet.

********

We had some nice gigs this weekend. We always seem to have a gig on Super Bowl Sunday, and attendance is affected. Those who showed up were glad they did. We sang in a huge church, and it was very Godlike. Saturday we were at a local place, and Rose came with a boatload of friends, my old boss from the 90s came with his wife and a friend, my engineer from my FIRST album (circa 1990) came up from Moosup -- I hadn't seen him in years. Others we knew. It was a full room, the food was spectacular as always, and I was reminded that I should just go there for lunch or dinner more often. It's not far and I'd like to be more supportive.

********

Just talked to Wes, who has a raging sore throat and is on antibiotics, hoping for enough recovery to do a radio show in Boston on Thursday. We talked about books and he said he'd been thinking about having me read to him. I said I'd love to, that I read aloud all the time; he said but it would have to be in bed. I said, okay, I'll read you to sleep and let myself out. No, he wanted to do it here. "You're not sleeping in my bed," I said, laughing. "Why not?" "Because no one sleeps in my bed but me." "How come?" "There's a dent in the middle the shape of my ass, and it won't fit anyone else!" He finally relented and said I could read him to sleep at his place and then go home. It's so funny, I felt not the least twinge at not having anyone to sleep with. At the moment, I'm better off alone. How curious to have come to this and have it be all right.

********

I need to go to a chiropractor. My spine is so... just... kinked. Compressed. Crackly. Stiff. I don't stretch enough, either. My neck feels like it's bound with those little purple rubber bands that come around the broccoli.

********

Now I'll go take a glass of wine into the living room and watch some more episodes of 6FUnder. Nice night in.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!