Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 10, 2006

10:30 p.m.

Good Take

This week I nailed a really good vocal on a new song. I got Chris to make me a quick mix of it, so now I get to listen to it a thousand times and be all narcissistic in the privacy of my own home. It still needs some more instrumentation, and percussion, but it's going to be one of the highlights of the new album.

We also made a few passes at a really difficult a cappella piece, and the afterscrutiny (Ha ha, Poolagirl, I said "afterscrutiny" and you didn't! Neener!) almost did us in. Divorce and breakup were imminent, in between loud guffaws at embarrassing pitch plummets, mumbly diction and lame passing notes. We had to play all the bad parts over and over, like people who stop to gape repeatedly at an accident. Aside from the boring parts where I lay on the floor and struggled to keep my brain awake, it was quite fun. We agreed that this was why there could be no one else in the band; they'd know too much, and we'd have to kill them.

Meanwhile Steve was coming to visit tomorrow, but we postponed for a number of reasons, so I'm getting my snow tires put on instead. It requires going to the dealer 45 minutes away, unfortunately; since I'm in that neighborhood I might as well go to Rose's and do a load of laundry, and then go to her knitting class in the evening.

********

Last night, at the band's house, or rather early this morning, I had two dreams. In both of them I had the stopwatch that stopped time. To be more specific, I wanted to have the stopwatch, but it wasn't in my hand, so I was pretending to have it, hoping it would appear. Sometimes in my dreams, my visualization sucks. My deceased ex-boyfriend used to say he could manifest weapons in his dreams. I have trouble manifesting things, though I think I should be able to. Anyway, in the first dream I stopped time and went into Will's wedding, and ate the first piece of their wedding cake so they wouldn't get it. In the second dream, somewhere else, I pretended to press the button on the watch, but nobody stopped, so I started telling them off for not cooperating. I got into an argument with a little Hispanic man sitting with some other people at a long table, telling him he should freeze when I clicked the watch. He was trying to fill out some papers and I grabbed them and said if he didn't cooperate with the stopwatch I'd rip up his papers. He didn't, and so I ripped them up and ran. He chased me out of the building -- I think maybe some other people were after me too -- and I knew I was dreaming, because I came to this weird door that would be really hard to open, to the outside, and thought, "Yeah, this is the door I always get to when I'm trying to escape, and I know I won't be able to open it; so isn't there some other way?" Somehow I got outside, and then was walking with some other people who were leaving down a country lane... and then instead of it being me who was running away from that guy, I was talking to this woman who now was that character. She seemed totally at ease, strolling down this lane, and though I was startled and concerned for her, she had some explanation as to why it was no longer necessary to run... like maybe it had all been a play and now it was over.

Hmph. It should be that simple, dream girl.

I just started reading "The Eyre Affair" by Jasper Fforde, and good Heavens, why haven't I heard of this book before??

That's it; knitting calls.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!