Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 22, 2005

12:43 a.m.

The Mouse in Winter

Hee hee hee, I never gave a gift to someone I didn't know before, and I found out it feels fabulous!!

But money has been coming to me unexpectedly lately, and I'm gleaning all sorts of messages therefrom (like, time to get off my ass and make some things manifest, career-wise) and I wanted to pass something forward, a little of the joy I've been feeling. Tithe something back to the Universe. Keep it moving.

Also I realize it's time to revise my relationship with money, and the "attitude of lack" in which I've been living for so many years. I'm looking outside the box. There isn't just "I made x amount this month and I lost this much money;" there is a world of possibilities that I have the power to generate. Hello. It's up to me. Creative power. What did you think all that uncharted gray matter was for?

Anyway, Merry Christmas, Mehiel!!

********

I spent a fun afternoon and evening in Boston with my friend from L.A. (whom I simply must call Ducky), and Dar who took us out to an incredible restaurant called Bricco's. I can hardly describe what we ate -- it was so posh and so gourmet and so complex and delicious. The wild mushroom appetizer, wrapped in spinach and covered with some kind of cheese and set on a sprinkling of reddish and green sprouts... the 3 kinds of mozzarella with bicolor tomatoes... the whole calamaris (which I mistook for little endive heads) stuffed with some spicy squash thing... the squash-stuffed tortelli, the perfectly cooked salmon and green and white asparagus. We ate almost every bite. Dar and Ducky split a martini, and we estimated how much of a martini would lead to unbridled mushiness ("I love you guys! You're the only ones who understand me!"), how much to salacious comments, and how much to actual removal of clothing. I had a glass of wine, which simply led to perfect appreciation of the meal.

Then we walked down the street to have coffees and desserts at another place. I had a most excellent flan and a decaf latte. Then we walked back to get the car from valet parking. It was a few minutes' wait; they don't actually have a parking lot so we wondered vaguely where they actually took the cars. To some secret place known only to valets in the North End. It was bloody cold; we jumped up and down.

Finally the car arrived, and Dar dropped D. off at her lodging, and took me back to the T station where I'd left my car. We exchanged Christmas gifts but said we wouldn't open them until Sunday.

On the way home I saw a bank sign that said it was 14 degrees outside. No wonder we were cold! A bit later I saw a mouse scoot across the road. Good Lord, I thought, it's too cold for a mouse tonight. I said a prayer for it and its family.

Dar might come out Sunday morning for a while, maybe meet me at Rose's, if I don't have to play the Christmas a.m. service at the yoga center. I'll leave for there tomorrow afternoon and stay at least thru the concert Saturday night. We never find out til the last minute whether we'll be involved in the next morning's gathering. I rather hope we don't have to, this time.

It seems this week has involved a lot of rushing around, but I know it'll be good to get to Kripalu and crash for a couple of days. I plan to bring my knitting, and maybe work on a new song if inspiration visits. And sleep a lot. Like a mouse in winter.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!