Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 12, 2005

12:22 a.m.

And Then

A couple of gigs, three long days and nights at the band's house, one snowstorm, a fine dinner and a viewing of Harry Potter 4 later...

Here I am back again. Briefly.

At dinner, Dar told me about an interview he heard on NPR with a man who has written a book about people's secrets. People send him their secrets, anonymously, to get them off their chests I suppose, and he's published a few hundred of them in this book. Without names, so they're still more or less secret.

One woman said she wished on a dandelion puff that her husband would die, for example.

In keeping with the subject, then, I told him a secret. I may have mentioned here before, this fantasy I have about having a little stopwatch that stops time, all except for me. Everyone around me stops, but I can go around and wreak havoc all I want until I decide to turn time back on again. Anyway this daydream is well known to Dar and we've had fun talking about all its ramifications. I'm sure there is a universe somewhere in which a parallel Me is doing this. So what I told him was that I had an actual dream about it last night. I was at a big party, and Will and his wife of one year were there. I turned off time, and then went up and unhooked her bra and made it all askew, then put ice down her panties and squashed a piece of cake in his shirt pocket. Then I got out of sight before resuming the normal space time continuum.

Dar laughed so hard he fell over in the booth, and said, "That is so healthy!" ...which made me laugh all the harder.

********

I met him after his 2nd show of the day, and we walked down the street to Shorah's, an Italian restaurant he's been patronizing for so many years (while working at that theatre) that the owner knows him by sight. Although there was a little crowd waiting to be seated for a party, he spotted us and waved us over to a table right away. Our appetizer was grilled portabella mushrooms and asparagus, which were an incredible meal in themselves. After a caesar salad, I had a gorgeous grilled swordfish that was pretty much perfectly done, and way too large to eat in its entirety, which is why half of it is now in my fridge. Dar had salmon and scarfed it all.

Then we dashed off to the cinema, got there exactly on time, and sat down in an almost empty theatre to watch Harry Potter. For once there were two or three movie previews that we were actually interested in seeing. I forget their names now, of course, but they'll come up. It was great of course, and though I had a couple of bones to pick with it, we enjoyed it and whispered annoyingly about everything, which didn't bother anyone as there wasn't a soul near us.

I didn't cry as much as I anticipated I would. Mostly my fluids were depleted by slobbering over how ridiculously gorgeous young Harry has turned out (and really, the bathtub scene? Don't even talk to me).

We've adjusted rehearsal so that I'm only going in on Tuesday this week, not tomorrow. I stayed an unprecedented 3 nights at my mates' house last week, and by the fourth day I was getting rather irritable at the comparative lack of privacy. I love them but enough is enough.

Our Friday gig was nearly cancelled owing to the storm, which dropped about 10" of snow here and almost that much in New Jersey. In the end we dug ourselves out and went anyway rather than reschedule, and by the time we got out of CT the roads were clear and it was sunny.

Saturday's gig was rather more live; the audience was primed and people asked us questions and we laughed a lot. Carol was punchy for some reason and it made her even funnier than usual. Next weekend we're in Syracuse.

********

May I just ask, here, why fat free mayo has to be sweetish? Mayonnaise is tangy, not sweet. Sweet does not make up for the removal of fat. Fat free mayonnaise invariably tastes like ass, and it makes a lame tuna salad.

********

I spoke with Rose this morning, who had bunion surgery on Thursday. She's doing fine aside from the boredom. I'll see them Thursday.

********

Taking a stranger's message to heart, I sat down and wrote a new song last week that I think is some of my best work. Of course there is the temptation to think that of every new song, but this is very close to my heart. It's also sort of a Christmas present for Rose and Mike.

Actually I wrote a good deal of it on the way home from that gig, scribbling notes in the dark into a small spiral notebook while driving with my knee. Not very safe, I admit, but the muse must out.

********

And now I'm very tired. Very.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!